You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lichtenstein - A Local Prince in a Small Country

in #travel6 years ago

I have no clue on the answer to your question but we have cities here in Texas that are way bigger than that country so it amazes me that the country of the size hasn't been swallowed up by some neighboring country.
I guess the people trust their ruler if they gave him veto power over the decisions that the people made. Either that or they fear the consequences if they had not done it. It might be better to pretend you trust him then to show him you don't and then have to live in fear from showing your distrust.
Anyway, nice clean looking place, thanks for sharing it with us. I also hope someone knows the answer and shares it here, I hate to have to google everything.

Sort:  

I wish I could get paid to google things. I really enjoy having all that info at my fingertips...it just sucks that I get lost in learning things so easily. I learned a lot about Lichtenstein because I was curious why they have a prince and not a king. Then I learned that the prince is really a prince regent, so I assumed that meant his parents were dead. So I googled it and found out that his parent aren't dead, but alive and well, although daddy is a bit controversial (and still called the prince, by the way) so he decided to step back from the throne and give the day to day control to his son. So dad is technically the real prince, while son is the prince regent. And then I learned about their world-famous wineries carefully curated by the royal family and I learned about the veto and referendum and ok, I'm going to stop now because this could go for a really long time.

I'm glad you stopped by, and I sure hope someone shows up who knows for sure the answer. :-) It's an interesting theory that maybe they are just pretending to trust him. I hadn't thought of it that way.

That is the good thing about how this system works here, we all look at things from different angles and the views can be drastically different or varied only slightly or not at all. The point being that we all can learn and expand our knowledge just by reading and commenting.
That is so interesting that the Father of the Prince Regent is alive but stepped back from ruling. I wonder what his retirement check looks like every month.

Ha, I bet it's a hefty check! And yes, I like exposure to different perspectives. It's one of the main ways people build intelligence, in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04