How long do you travel daily to reach your workplace from home?

in #travel6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

I live in a city called Ghaziabad near the capital of India, Delhi, and my workplace is around 45 kilometers from my home. So everyday I travel 90+ kilometers for work.

And as you all know, Delhi is one of the most congested cities in the world, so it takes me minimum of 1.5 hours to a maximum of 2.15 hours if I travel by motorcycle and minimum of 2 hours if I travel by car. Public transport takes minimum of 2 hours and I have to change multiple modes of travel (from auto rickshaw to bus to metro train) to reach my destination.

WP_001723.jpg
on my way to work on a Harley Davidson Street 750

What makes the matters worse is pollution. Again, Delhi is one of the most polluted cities in the world and because of ever increasing population and infrastructure development, there is a huge amount of fine dust in the air. That makes breathing even more difficult.

TwitterCover.jpg
Traffic en route, image courtesy wikipedia.

smog.jpg
low visibility in Delhi due to smog, photo courtesy wikipedia

So I end up spending 3-4 precious hours everyday of my life into this mess, the time I should be spending on myself and with my family.

And yesterday while going back home, I was wondering as to what is the average distance worldwide people travel to reach their workplace!

Do share it with everyone here, it will be interesting to see the pattern.

Sort:  

Interesting post. 40 km for me!

that too in Bangalore! :D

Thanks for the response, Swati!

1 hr 10-15 mins in morning, 1 hr 20-30 mins in the evening. 38-42km one way, depending on the route I take

thank god you didn't give me your commute to Manali office stats :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81