Kayaking With Humpback Whales!!

in #travel7 years ago

We have been travelling the world full time for almost 3 years now but occasionally come home for a few months to spend time with family and friends. After Hawaii we decided to head home (Australia/NZ) and spend the winter on the Sunshine Coast.

From mid-June to early November, the coastline becomes a playground for the majestic creatures migrating from the cold Antarctic waters to the warm oasis of the Great Barrier Reef. They even call it the "Humpback Highway".

The whales range in length from 12-16m (39-52ft) and weigh about 36,000kg so when they swim underneath or pop up next to me in my 3m kayak it can be a little scary to say the least haha. Majority of the time the whales keep their distance but when I am not paddling in my kayak I sit very still and they will come right up and under me.

Our ocean is one amazing place and I hope we can start to look after it.

Sort:  

Great post and amazing video :)

Thanks for the feedback :)

That looks like an amazing experience but I think I would be scared to death to be in a kayak next to them. Maybe if I were in a boat I would be ok. Thanks for sharing these great shots of them.

Thanks, yeah was scared at first but the whales come past every twenty minutes so it becomes a little more relaxing and enjoyable. Not when they swim right under the kayak tho. That still scares me haha :)

Wow I would be frozen stiff in fear if one swam under the kayak. All I would think is that they were going to dump me into the water. I love nature and especially love the sea life. Have fun and be careful. :)

Congratulations @sunsurfsoul, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1443 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2096.56. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Nice one!💪💚👍

Beautiful gentle giants of the sea. Majestic are they

Totally agree!

Just started my around the world travel three weeks ago. It would be so awesome to kayak alongside these whales! Some of these shots look like they're from a bigger boat or a plane (something higher than a kayak... Were some of these shots from something other than kayak?

Oh awesome hope you have a great trip! Yes some are from a drone. I was looking for new fishing spots when I noticed the whales. Such happy creatures. All the best for your travels :)

Wow - this is incredible. Thanks for sharing. - Subscribed to your Awesome Youtube Channel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99