Seoul Study Abroad: Pre-Departure

in #travel7 years ago

안녕하세요! I am very excited to be sharing this blog with anyone and everyone who cares to follow me and keep up with me during my time abroad in South Korea. I will try not to make my posts too dense, but try to fill it with mostly pictures and moments that I’d like to share. I think that, for this post, I will give an over view of where exactly I will be going and what I will be doing there between August 27th and December 22nd of 2017.

Overview_Ecc.JPG

To begin, I am studying abroad at Ewha Womans University in Seoul, South Korea. This is a women’s only university opened in 1886, accredited 1946, and was the first educational institute for Korean women. I will be studying as an exchange student through ISEP, a third party business which facilitates students with the opportunity to study at universities that may not have connections with their home university. The reason I chose Ewha was not only because of it’s beautiful campus and city setting, but to also learn and experience a culture completely opposite of my own. Yes, it is a very daunting and nerve-wracking feat, but I believe that it will be so beneficial and rewarding to my personal development as well as benefit my educational success within the Anthropological field.

Ewha-Womans-University_042.jpg

The classes in which I will be taking at Ewha will range from Linguistics to Korean ceramics! 90% of the classes I will be taking at Ewha will be easily transferred over to Southern towards my Asian studies minor (thanks to Southern’s great study abroad office and my awesome Anthropology advisor). I think I am most looking forward to taking the religions in modern Korea class as well as Korean ceramics! I am very excited to experience the teaching style at a foreign countries institution as well as university life in general.

So, I’ve got my visa, my flight booked, room assignment and spending money saved! All there is to do now is stress over what to and not to pack! Only 15 hours until my flight leaves NYC and I’m on my 14 hour, 6,800 miles journey. Next stop, Seoul!

shutterstock_407897917-lotte-world-tower-seoul-61bbde30f1cf.jpg

Sort:  

Upvoted! wish you the best, such a great adventure and lifetime memories awaiting.
After i gratuated i travelled for four years loved it!
South Korea is still on my list.
all the best and will keep an eye out for your blog
Saw that you are new on the platform, make sure to write a introduction post as well to create more attention.
goodluck

Thank you so much! And I will definitely write an intro post, thanks for the advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58