The Beautiful Little Path to the Ocean - Osborne Beach in South Australia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

This beach is a very special place to me. It's beautiful and scary at the same time to look out into the vast ocean and realise how small you are.

Before I leave for my trip I wanted to visit 8 special places here in South Australia. This spot was pretty high on my priority list, and I finally went back.

Now there are probably much more spectacular places and beaches in the world but for some reason, because this one is so close to me I guess, I find it that much more beautiful. From the walk through the brush to the sand, to climbing the rocks as the waves smash into them, it's just too amazing.


I went back with two of my friends that live pretty much right next to the beach. We walk down a dead end street past all of the huge white beachy houses with the giant glass windows. You quite often see an older person sitting peacefully looking out over the ocean with a puppy dog by their chair. I know that I definitely want to be like that some day.

Then you hop over the little fence and start trudging through the sand. Our flip flops always collect so many 3 corner jacks and picking them out is sometimes just as fun as the trip. You can tell that this path isn't walked along very often. The people looking out the windows seem surprised but always smile at us.

IMG20180407111016.jpg

As soon as you get to slightly higher ground you can see all of the amazing colours. The bright, bright blue of the ocean and the sky, and the way the sun catches the water and seaweed makes it all look so lively. There are hardly ever any footprints on the sand.

I guess when I tend to go adds to the whole beauty. I only seem to go during school or work time which makes the everyday chatter and craziness silent, but the ocean and all of nature so much louder.

IMG20180407111255.jpg

We put down our flip flops and don't have to worry about them. I shove my phone into my waistband or sit it somewhere else safe and set off. We walk and paddle and stare into the sea.

IMG20180407113444.jpg

I was lucky enough to have my friends with me this time so I got more photos than usual. I was feeling extra adventurous today and decided I was going to climb the rocks and walk out to the end. The rocks were a lot bigger than I first thought but that didn't stop us from climbing to silly heights and jumping around.

I tucked my phone in and set out, occasionally stopping to snap a photo. It's sometimes disappointing how photos don't fully capture what you're seeing with your eyes. They don't capture the 3D and depth to the beautiful landscape.

IMG20180407114427.jpg

Making it to the end took longer than expected. My feet were sore from the sharp rocks and the few slips I had, but it was well worth it. I sat at the end and put down my phone to enjoy the view. Sailboats were passing and everyone looked so happy. After about 5 minutes I saw a dolphin. I ended up scrambling for my phone but it never came back up again for a photo opportunity.

IMG20180407115222.jpg

I snapped a wonky photo of the blue ocean view right before my phone started to lose battery.

When I headed back I was much quicker and hopped from rock to rock rather than slowly testing and climing. I got most of the way back when one of my friends told me to hop down into the water. She said it was very shallow and much quicker. What we failed to consider was the fact that that was half an hour ago. I slowly got down to a lower rock and hopped down what I thought was at most a foot. I was very wrong though and got soaked as the water reached up to my waist. Should've worn bathers! Luckily my phone was
up high and didn't get wet.

We walked home sandy and salty, and our clothes were dry within minutes.

I really love SA and this is probably my favourite place at the moment. Whenever I'm alone I remember that I have this spot. It's somewhere that I don't have many memories of which include people. I've been told that it's the people that make a place nice, so it's hard for me to find somewhere that I can sit alone and not feel down.


I usually post more about where I go on instagram first, and that's just here

Sort:  

我喜欢这片海滩,谢谢你带我领略这里的美

Thank you, I always love sharing places with others and it's amazing beingg able to see all over the world through what people share.

I'm glad you enjoyed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61