TeshaTravels: historical ruins in Ayutthaya, Thailand

in #travel6 years ago

Ayutthaya, Thailand

As my first travel post on Steemit I thought I'd share my recent experience in the city Ayutthaya, Thailand. This was just one of the few cities I visited on my trip to Thailand and decided to start with this city for its sheer wow-factor in terms of the amazing historical ruins as you can see in my fave pic above.

So how did I end up in this rare city?

I had been touring the Northern city of Chiang Mai and the next stop was Bangkok which was a train ride away.

On taking a closer look at the train routes I saw that the train makes a stop at a city about 90min away from Bangkok called Ayutthaya which was known for its beautiful historical architecture and ruins. Always looking for new experiences, I decided I have to see this city. My first impression was that it still had its olden day charm and seemed to have been tucked away as one of Thailand's precious little secrets.

A pic of me at Ayutthaya train station.


A short history

The city of Ayutthaya is a UNESCO world heritage site. It was founded in 1350 and was part of the then Siamese kingdom where it became a wealth of diplomacy, commerce and architecture from the 14th to the 18th century. Most of the above photos showcase the artistic architecture of the 16th century.

The Burmese took over in the 17th century, burned the city down and forced the city to be abandoned by its inhabitants. The ruins are thus the remnants of war, civilisation and old age. The city was eventually rebuilt and declared an archaeological site.

The wats (temples) and tall prangs (reliquary towers) were built as part of the Buddhist monasteries and now serves as a proud example of true national Thai art.


Photo diary

IMG-2773.JPG

IMG-2834.JPG

IMG-2867.JPG



A quick laugh :)

IMG-2814.JPG

I found this "grill chicken ass" on sale at a road-side market, I'm sure they meant "grilled assorted chicken"!!


Thanks for reading! If you liked this post, have any questions, or want to see more like this let me know!

#TeshaTravels

#TravelBlog

Sort:  

Hey. I love Thialand but have never gone North. Thanks for this Article I must go see this for myself. @Originalworks

For me the best part of this article was grill chicken ass ! :))

hahaha @ssophiee thank you - glad you enjoyed it!

Hello from @sjob
Great post and pictures. I did fly through Thailand but I have never been there. But one day I would do that with my family.
Thank you for your great explanation of the place.
good luck, and god bless.

@sjob Thank you for stopping by. Yes, Thailand is great as a family destination :)

enjoyable.
pls vote comment follow me too :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62