Kingfisher feathers jewellery

in #travel6 years ago

Finally, I decided last week that it’s time to sort and do some house keeping with the photographs on my mobile phone.
See what I’ve found …. taken in a Peranakan Musuem in Penang!

I learnt that these pieces of beautiful jewellery were made from the striking iridescent blue feathers from the young Kingfisher’s feathers.
As the kingfisher is a small bird which is either difficult to catch or rear in captivity, the possession of such jewellery were symbols of wealth and social standing for the Peranakans then.


A closer view of a brooch (above) – see the light blue feathers!

Shocking to learn that to have kingfishers’ feathers at their brightest and most vibrant, they should ideally be pulled from a live bird!
Though abhorred by the thought of it, at the same time, I am fascinated by the skills and creativity of these craftsmen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84