Hiking with my horses and dog in Andalusia Spain!

in #travel6 years ago

26828700_10159784793170366_1453550085_o.jpg

Going out for hikes is a great way to bond with animals and enjoy nature. I am currently living in Jerez, Andalusia, with my furry friends. I got three of them. Jack the paint horse, Bonus the warmblood, and Luna, my rescue dog who is actually originally from Spain. She was rescued from the street and I found her online. She later came to Norway and became my BFF.

It is very important to me that my animals are happy and feel free. So many horses are kept in small boxes, some never get to play with other horses, and they are usually kept in a leash or being ridden when they are around humans. Always controlled. Kind of like a prisoner really. I dont want that for my horses. I want them to be part of the family, like my dog Luna. I want them to see me as a friend, not just as their owner and leader.

Since I am a horse trainer and instructor I need my horses to do certain things, so they can be good examples for the people and horses that I am trying to help. I for example love riding and working with Doma Vaquera, the Spanish way of riding that I am here to learn. But do my horses love it? Even though I do not use bits and ride in a way that is comfortable for the horse, I am pretty sure that my horses would rather do something else, like running free in woods. They are horses after all, born to be free and wild. That is why I make a compromise: "Some days we work on what I want, and some days we do what you want".

Horses are amazing beings and if you threat them right, they will do anything for you. I love hanging out with my horses and really get to know them. Yesterday we went on a great hike in Andalusia's beautiful nature. We had a "horse day". They really deserved having a great day just being horses, after some days with hard work.

It was around mid day when I came to the stable. I had a backpack with me filled with apples and carrots, and I went exited to the paddock to get my horses. I am always a little extra exited when I know we are going to do something that truly makes them happy. They met me by the gate as usual and were happy to see that I had brought them so much yummy stuff. They got even more happy when they noticed that we were having a horse day and going for a hike.

In the beginning I had to have all three of them in a leach. (There are some animal traps around the area so Luna couldn't run free like she usually does.) But they are all well behaved and know where to walk, so its very comfortable and relaxing walking with them, even though I am walking with all three of them at once.

We were on our way to the cow field, as I like to call it. There my horses can run free and the surroundings are really beautiful, and occasionally there are a bunch of cows there... hence the nick name! We had to cross some huge mud holes to get there. My boots got pretty drowned haha.

26853139_10159784792925366_991725476_o.jpg

26828468_10159784793130366_231659823_o.jpg

IMG_5164.jpg

Bonus was the first of the leash as usual. I have had him since he was two years old so our bond is very strong. His personality is truly like a big dog. He is very easy going, kind of slow moving, and he likes to smell his way forward. He also likes investigating things and checking stuff out. He usually walks behind me and Jack so he can stop, eat and chill. When he gets too far behind, he comes running after us as fast as he can, showing of his beauty and strength. (And trying to hide that he thinks its a little scary to be all the way back there on his own)

26853376_10159784792740366_1669910541_o.jpg

26829607_10159784792745366_1782751608_o.jpg

We found a nice spot to stop and eat some apples. I was sitting by a kork tree, enjoying just existing, being precent, with my three best friends.

IMG_5154.jpg

IMG_5162.jpg

IMG_5168.jpg

IMG_5171.jpg

Bonus is the youngest in our group and Jack is like an uncle to him. Sometimes I can not belive how nice Jack is. Bonus is biting him, chewing on his halter, trying to steal his apples... and Jack just stands there and let everything happen. The truth is that Jack is actually older and wiser. Even though he lets Bonus have his fun, he could easily take charge if he wanted to. But I think he really likes Bonus's attention, being the cool uncle that Bonus admires and loves more then anyone else. I have only had Jack for a little over a year. In the beginning he had some major trust issues, probably because he had several homes before me, and some bad things happened to him. He used to be very reckless and frightened and his mood was very unstable. But over the year I think he has really found peace together with us. Finally found the place where he belongs.

IMG_5203.jpg

IMG_5205.jpg

After Bonus was done being a wild horse, it was Jacks turn to run around. Jack is a little more alive and got more energy. He is running around all over the place, and unlike Bonus, he dares to go pretty far out of sight. Sometimes I wish that I could set him free somewhere beautiful. I am sure that he would have survived perfectly on his own. His natural horse instincts are very strong, and that is what I love most about him. His spirit will always be a little wild. And I think that is also why jack has learned to trust me. I see him for who he is and let him run free. I would never try to break his spirit, rather encourage his inner wildness.

IMG_5182.jpg

Bonus looking at his hero, wondering what he will do next.

IMG_5178.jpg
Marking his territory, showing Bonus how its done

IMG_5197.jpg

IMG_5240.jpg

I honestly think days like these are the best days with my horses. Seeing them feel so free and happy - that makes me very satisfied. A great horse whisperer once said: "It is when you take of all the equipment and set the horse free that you will see the truth". I think that is true with all animals, and people for that matter. If you love them, set them free.

IMG_5140.jpg
Bonus checking out this interesting tree.

We were out having fun all day and started to head home at sunset. We walked by these houses that belongs to gypsies. Apparently they have built all these houses themselves, illegally, and are living outside the law. Who can blame them really. I dont think their lives are very easy. I met a few of them, and although they have many really crazy dogs, they seem pretty nice. I think most people are good people, sometimes its just harder to see and understand.

IMG_5234.jpg
Luna watching some chickens close to the gypsy house

IMG_5231.jpg
Jack showing us the way home

IMG_5249.jpg

IMG_5244.jpg

As the sun went down, we reach the end of the cow field and only had about 50 minutes to walk back to the stable.

IMG_5253.jpg

My little wolf looking over at Jack. Luna loves to play with both my horses, but she got a special thing for Jack. We all do. She is not afraid of him at all, and sometimes she goes over to him and rests next to his feet. She knows perfectly well that he could step on her, but she trusts him not to. I think they have a special bond and are communicating a lot more then I am able to see.

IMG_5279.jpg

We watched the sun go down, and walked back in the dark. Alfonso, my trainer, keeps telling me how great it is to be out after dark with the horses, and I agree. Its nice to be out when nobody else is, at least no humans. You really get the feeling of being out in the wilderness, alone with just nature and animals. Its truly peaceful.

Alfonso met us when we got back to the stable and helped us getting all the mud of our feet. Then the horses got their evening meal and a little message. Me and Luna later went home to make ourselves something good to eat.

Well, we didn't see any cows, but we had a great day. I know my horses really appreciate days like these and so do I. Every time we do stuff like this, our bond grows extra strong, and that is a very good feeling.

Hope you enjoyed reading about our hike! Bonus, Jack and Luna says hello!

Please comment if you have any questions or opinions :)

Sort:  

Another great story. U keep writing great content keep on going @taraorlin this post might have less upvotes but it is just as good or even better!

wow

:D

Another wonderful story! I had horses growing up and loved to go hiking/riding in the woods with them. It's lovely to see how well they all get along.

Thank you very much! Yeah they are all best buds :D

What I great idea to go hiking with your horses instead of on them! If I ever choose to own my own property, I would love to adopt some of your views on horse ownership. Following you for more!

You and Alfonso are right about being out with the horses after dark... it's wonderful and peaceful. I used to love listening to the sounds of them peacefully chewing their hay and snorting and snuffling as they settle in for the night. Horses are the best. Keep writing about yours! I am loving it!

That is awesome that the horses get days off to just do horse things and goof around and bonus for you that you get to spend time outside with 3 beautiful animal friends. You are a good soul :)

Much love - Carl

Great to see this post your writing skills is amazing i really appreciate it

Thank you very much! :)

Beautiful photos @taraorlin, I can conceive no better time spent than with animals in the countryside :) You are really living the life :)

What a great hike :-)

Enjoy your rides 😍👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61