Run, check, fly

in #travel5 years ago

Well, I got to see a little more of Belgrade than expected, but it was at speed. The taxi strike continued today and I had to leg it back to the hotel which was some 4 kilometers from where I was.

I would have taken a tram but had no idea how or where from. In the picture is a stop about 100 metres from the hotel.

LRM_EXPORT_460855032510342_20191004_155624687.jpeg

But once I got to the hotel, I still had to find a way to the airport as without taxis, options were severely limited. There was a flight crew leaving and I tried to bum a ride by knocking on the window but the captain of the plane said they couldn't take me because the company was paying... I am pretty sure I could have talked a flight attendant into breaking the rules.

In the end, one of the hotel staff drove me the 20 minutes or so to the airport in the hotel van, but it cost 3 times as much as a taxi for the same trip. I am not paying of course and it is still relatively cheap considering my taxi home tonight is going to be double that and travel half the distance.

The airport setup here is quite weird for a large airport as rather than a general security check, the scanning takes place at the gate itself, so just before boarding (which will happen soon) the bag and body scans are performed. It makes the boarding a little chaotic in my opinion, but there isn't a massive line waiting to get through security.

I will be glad to get home after the running today and hopefully will have a chance to sleep in a little. I will be off again in a couple weeks for my next trip but that should be a little more organised than this trip was as the schedule has already been set... Afaik.

Because of the forced run I didn't get a chance to eat and I am getting a bit peckish, but don't know if there will be much opportunity on the way to grab something decent as the stops between are very short. Intermittent fasting is a thing though, right?

Well, boarding is about to begin and I have 3 flights ahead before I arrive in Finland and I won't be home until 1am.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


Onboarding

Sort:  

How a city large is Belgrade? Did you have time to see any of the sights of the city center? Orthodox Christian cathedrals in capital cities tend to be very beautiful.

Nope. Not on my run. I only had a couple hours today so just spent it wandering around and looking for a gift for Smallsteps. I have seen many, many churches and cathedrals though and I no longer have the urge to find them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94