Tasmania Adventure - Day 16

in #travel6 years ago

tas 1.jpg

Hiking alone Florentine Road still, around the meandering roads on the edge of Mt Field. The views of the Gordon valley are beautiful I'm even glad for the drizzly damp day on the road. Collected water from a stream as I headed towards Maydena and eventually along Gordon River Road.

Lots of rain and White Cockatoos screeching and flying overhead.
Stopped in the town cafe and ordered a burger and a hot chocolate and called mum to let her know I'm all-good. Then spoke with Dad as we tried to find a route through to the Huon River.

Eventually, after some work, he found a walking trail, The Lachlan trail. This will see me carry on East past the town of Westerway and allow me to paddle a bit more of the Derwent river before hiking south up and over a small mountain via Jeffrey’s Track and into Crabtree before meeting up with Ma & Pa in Ranelagh before paddling onto Castle Forbes bay and to the finish.

Happy I get to paddle some of the Huon River as it has a certain romance to it especially in the forests again and to be able to do it with Dad fills me with joy. Yes, the plans have changed but I'm so happy. I'll get to paddle a bit more in the Packraft before swapping it for the canoe for the final days.

tas 2.jpg

​I continue hiking on the roads looking painfully at the Tyenna River that's just too shallow to drop into.

My left knee is grinding and has swollen a little; the pain is throbbing as I grab a stick to help ease some of the pressure on it. So sore now, a mix of the constant pressure from walking, the weight of the pack and the fall where I twisted it badly a few days ago along the Gordon river.

I keep at it and eventually make it to Westerway, which I note has some gorgeous houses. I push on some more and bed down beside the Derwent River for the night tucking into my last 24hrmeal expedition meal.
Do some self-massage on my leg and knee, stretching and fall asleep dreaming of Packrafting in the morning.

Thanks for reading - TazMania

If you enjoyed this please upvote and ReSteem

Sort:  

Wah !! beautiful location and beautiful place and these are kinda place where I want to roam and spend some special time of my life. I must say that you are lucky.

Thank you....steem on and stay blissful....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55