A Snowshoe Afternoon

in #travel6 years ago

When the snow arrives, one of my favourite pastimes is snowshoeing.

A couple of years ago I lucked out at Costco with a set for under $80 which came with poles and a handy bag to zip everything up in and throw over your shoulder.


received_10209164750990341.jpeg
(I am very spoiled to have one of my closest friends be a pro photographer!
Credit: Elizabeth Holly Photography)

As soon as the first snow blanketed the hills the invite went out to all snowshoers to assemble with plans to do a trek up at the Nordic Ski Centre. One of my favourite locations, there are several trails with heated cabins along the way and routes are maintained well due to the $5 donation box at the beginning.


editedd.jpg

We did the Snowy Owl trail, about 5km to a heated cabin where we enjoyed lunch and a couple of sips of whisky. Of course on arrival to the cabin we were out of breath and dripping sweat as it seems no matter how few layers you wear , snowshoeing heats your muscles right up!

Snapchat-2134721140.jpg

Although the snow was a little crunchy, it was a great first hike of the season. I can't wait for the powder to fall again so we can get back out there. Next stop? Snowboarding this weekend!

received_10209164751430352.jpeg
(Another stunning shot I had to share with you from the talented Elizabeth Holly Photography)

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.35% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Wow, looks like fun; yet, I only welcome snow in pictures!

That is a stunning shot of the sky in the last photo...

Was that a rain cloud?

Thanks for sharing!

Peace.

I think it was a rain cloud! My friend took the picture, she is an amazing photographer! :)

Awesome! Looks pretty fun :) I got snow shoes this year and I am excited to try them out. Plus its been snowing all day long so I should be set to get out there anytime now!

It really is the best in fresh powdery snow :) Have fun!

Thanks! I went on the weekend, it was awesome, freezing but awesome lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59