How I Got Here Part III: The Bangkok Hooker Story

in #travel6 years ago

I walk to the luggage claim with the young Russian. A few minutes later his luggage comes down the conveyor belt, but not mine. One by one each parcel is claimed by its owner and the machine begins to slow.

"Well, shit"

The Russian offers to help me search the other claim areas. Nothing. I decide to check lost luggage. We go to the first teller that we see and ask him where it is. He points out and to the left. We run in that direction but see nothing that resembles a lost and found. We ask another teller and he points in the opposite direction. For over half an hour we are stuck in this ping pong until we find the area. There are a handful of suitcases, but none that are the size and color of mine.

I decide to go to the airline and question them. It did not take much, she clicked a few buttons and made a phone call.

"You're bags are secure in Abu Dhabi, what hotel are you staying at? We will have them to you within a day."

I gave her my hotel information and got the airlines contact information in case there was an issue. I passed through customs with nothing but my backpack, sweats, and a computer bag issue free. There was no one from the agency there with a car or taxi. They never said they were going to, but I figured they might extend the courtesy.

I hail a taxi. Since we were heading to different areas of the city the Russian and I took separate cabs, we agree to meet at Nam Nam Palace at 10:30 and added each other on Facebook before taking off.

I arrive at a dimly lit hotel, pay the taxi driver from the cash I exchanged at the airport, and head to reception. In a single lit room, an attractive woman sat at a desk. I gave her my name and the name of the agency.

"We have no reservation for you."

I guess the hotel was just a suggestion. "Um. Okay. How much is a room then?"

"We have no more rooms. You can go to our sister hotel, they may have something."

"And where is that?"

"Just there, not far, easy to find."

So, I grab my bags and head to the sister hotel. Again, a single young female at a desk. She is accommodating. She sets me up a room, let's me call the airline to let them know the change of location, and gives me directions on where to purchase clothes at this late hour. I went up into my room to freshen up before heading out into the city in search of a new outfit.

I grab my charger out of my bag to re-energize my phone. I reach in my pocket for my phone, but my pocket is empty. I search the desk, my bag, the bed, everywhere, but the phone is nowhere to be found. I begin to panic. This phone is my camera and my only form of contact to my family back home.

I run downstairs and ask the girl at the reception desk if she had seen a phone that looks like a camera. She shook her head.

"Damn, I think I dropped it in the taxi."

"Oh, we have cameras. We can check which taxi and call them."

"Really that would be amazing."

She pulls up the camera feed onto a screen and rewinds it back to my check-in time. The taxi that took me to the sister hotel would have to pass by the camera on its way out. We time it back to the around when I would have been dropped off at the other hotel. Luckily traffic was light on this little street and one taxi with bright pink markings is visible on the screen.

She recognizes the company and immediately calls the number for their main office. She speaks in quick Thai and gets redirected to the controller at the airport. A conversation pursues, it felt like it got a little heated. She looks at me,

"They say they haven't seen any phones like that. He is calling drivers to check their cabs."

She hangs up and waits for his phone call. I begin to chain smoke at this point. Fifteen to twenty minutes pass before the phone rings again.

"Sawadee-kap. Ok. Chi. Ok."

She continued the conversation with a few quick Thai sentences and hung up the phone.

"No one find. They call back if they find. Ok?"

I shrugged and came to the realization that I will probably never see that phone again. I asked for directions to the night market so I could finally get a change of clothes. She directed me to the subway system and told me it was only a few stops.

I begin walking the streets of Bangkok. Dark roads with brightly lit shops line the area. Motorcycle taxis continually stop and ask if I need a ride. It takes me a little bit of wandering and asking for multiple directions before I find the subway system. I walk down the steep stairs to find turnstiles, but I have no idea how they operate. I walk over to a glass window that looks like an information booth.

"How do I get to the night market?"

The woman behind the counter tells me the price and then hands me a black token.

"It's third stop. Platform two."

I walk through the turnstiles, still unsure what I am supposed to do with this little plastic token. I board my train and keep my eye out for the stop. I stand as the train plows its way down the tunnel. A young couple is standing across the aisle. I decide to try one of the customs I have read about before heading on this journey.

I place my palms together and bring them just above my upper lip.

"Wai."

The young man chuckles.

"Hey, I'm not from here either, but i'm pretty sure wai means bow."

I lower my head in embarrassment. They smile and tell me not to worry. They explain the proper way to greet in Thailand. My first Thai lesson and it wasn't even given by the Thai.

I get off at my stop and blindly walk towards the first exit. I see people putting the black tokens into the turnstiles on their way out. I fish my exit token out of my pocket and copy the procedure.

The streets are bustling and full of life. One street is nothing but clothes vendors. I price shop a little bit and pick up a couple outfits, not really knowing if I will ever see my luggage again. Then I headed back to the hotel for a nice hot shower before meeting up with everybody at Nam Nam Palace.

I don't know if it was from jet lag, stress of losing my luggage and phone, or what, but as soon as I got back to the hotel, I lied down on the bed and the next thing I knew it was the next morning. I sent my family a message on the hotel computer and decided to find the agency.

The building was not far from my hotel and due to its size was not hard to find. I walked in and looked at the company board and saw that the agency was on the fourth floor. I hopped in an elevator and prepared myself to meet my new employers, even though I was wearing just jeans and a t-shirt I picked up from the night market.

To my surprise the office was closed. It was odd, but I was there quite early in the morning. I waited the better part of an hour, not a single person got off at that floor. So, I decided to go grab breakfast and have a little walk to kill some time until they got to work.

Bangkok has a strange smell when you first arrive. I'm not sure if it is the large woks of frying grease, but for some reason every time I went up to a street vendor, my stomach curled. I saw a McDonalds and decided this is my best bet to calm my sensory overload.

I walked past Ronald giving a bow and entered the familiar franchise. Parts of the menu looked typical but many of the items I had never seen back home. I ordered something rather plain and sat at a table next to some university students. After eating, I decided to introduce myself.

"Hey man what are you doing here? Don't you know the General just overthrew the government?"

They immediately got into Thai politics, which I had kept a brief familiarity with in the few weeks before I decided to move here.

"Yeah, but isn't everything ok? I mean the curfews are over now."

"Ha, for now. But there are many who are against this and who knows what the military will do next to keep us under control."

The group went pretty quiet after this comment. I decide this is s a good time to take my time-wasting walk. I bid my farewell as I empty my tray.

"Hey, good luck man. And be careful, things are different now."

At this I headed out the door. The air was warm, but not much warmer than it had been in Florida. I continued down the street past the vendors but never letting the tall office building of the agency out of my sight.

I must have walked that street up and down six or seven times while stopping by the office every second or third trip before anyone arrived. They seemed almost shocked to see me, even though I had given them all of my flight information and my arrival dates. The friendliness I felt over Skype appeared to be forced now.

"Ok David, so there has been a slight change in plans. You will be teaching in another village now."

"Is it for the same amount of time as before and then I can move back here to teach in Bangkok?"

"Um, yeah. You will be at this post for six weeks and in that time we will try and find you something close to here."

"Ok. Because I want to experience the village life, but I really want to live in the city after."

"Not a problem. Here is a brief description of the city, the name of your contact there, and directions to the bus station. They will be expecting you by Monday."

"Ok. So what should I do in the mean time?"

"Enjoy Bangkok. Have you had a chance to look around?"

"Not really."

"So here you go. Head to Taphanhin tomorrow or Sunday and enjoy your night. You should check out Nam Nam Palace, it's quite an interesting sight. Now we have some work we have to get done, drop us a line if you have any issues."

At that I was sent on my way. So, I decided to go see the sights of Bangkok. I wandered to the subway, got my little black token and directions, and went to play tourist.

The central tourist area is packed with people of every nationality imaginable. I make my way over towards the river to check out the boats. A well built black man in a funny sailor's outfit approaches me. He tries to sell me on a boat tour and offers a fairly reasonable price. Still I decline and continue on.

I see a couple contemplating taking a boat and talking with a different tour operator.

"Hey, would you guys be interested in splitting a boat?"

The broad shouldered man pondered this question for a second and then turned to his girlfriend. They had a short conversation in whispered French and then agreed to share a boat tour.

We go over to one of the tour salesmen and negotiate a price. He walks us down the dock as the boats fill and unload like rides at an amusement park.

"Ok. This is you boat"

A pudgy Thai man was running the rudder of the oversized canopied canoe. We hopped on then helped the girl board. You could tell she was not used to boats and her platform shoes were not helping her in the endeavor.

The boat took off down the canal. The three of us chatted a bit as we passed by large Buddhist temples. All the while our guide sat in silence, almost annoyed that he had to take us. The couple was from Belgium and the man was the only one of the two that spoke English, so communication with the girl was through my broken French and his translations.

We veered off the main canal and went through some neighborhood districts. Large monitors snaked through the water and occasionally a school of large what looked like Koi fish would thrash at the offerings given by tourists. Still the guide remained silent.

We twisted and turned through the small canalways until we came out into the main expanse of the river. The guide picked up speed as he headed back to our disembarking point. Then for the first time he spoke as he pointed at a landmark.

"Building from Hangover."

We laugh. "Hell of a guide, he knows what we came to see."

We ask him to drop us off at one of the temples instead of our original starting point. He rolls his eyes but complies with our request. He turns the boat around and heads for a small dock next to a massive squared pyramid.

The Belgian man gets off first and then helps his girlfriend. Then I see why the man was probably not so happy with his tour. The beautiful young Belgian girl was wearing a nice normal top, but her shorts only covered about two-thirds of her ass. As nice as it was to look at, it was not the most appropriate attire for visiting religious temples.

We head towards the temple. I grab a freshly shucked coconut for refreshment from the beating Thai sun. At the entrance to the temple the couple is stopped. She is told she must rent a sarong to cover herself up if she wants to visit. She giggles in embarrassment and obliges.

The steps to the temple are incredibly steep and tall enough that is was more of a climb than a walk up a staircase. We separate for a bit to give them some alone time with the views and not be pestered by their third American wheel.

At the foot of the temple, we decide to go check out a few more places along the river. Large boats that act more like a river buses rotate from the dock. We board one and head to the next destination. Each temple was the same routine. They would be stopped and she would have to rent a covering.

Eventually she just went straight to the vendor and picked one before even trying to enter the temple as she complained that she is wearing shorts because of the heat, do they not understand it's hot outside. I don't think she realizes that people came to pray to Buddha not Booty.

After visiting several of the main sights, we decide to head to the main market street so she could go shopping. The man and I sat down at a table and grabbed a beer as she went on her spree. We talked for a bit and enjoyed our drinks as the sun began to make its descent. She returns with a few bags and they decide to head back to their hotel to get ready for the evening.

"Hey do you think you could send me the photos from today?"

He gets up from his seat.

"Yeah no problem."

"Ok. My name is quite different but easy to find."

As I tell him my name, he just nods and says "got it, I'll remember" without writing anything down. I was never to see these photos and I realized that quite quickly.

I sat down back at my table and order another drink and something to eat. Ah, Bangkok, it's not as crazy as they make it out to be.

Vendors of all sorts line the streets: clothes, souvenirs, fake documents, whatever you are looking for, some have shops or stalls while others carry their merchandise with them. One by one they would make their way to your table and try to sell you their goods, typically toys, scorpions on a stick, or some other undesirable item.

One man did have something I was looking for. He comes up to me with a tan leather wallet and tells me it is made from real crocodile hide. He is selling them for what equates to about ten US dollars, so I'm skeptical but my current wallet is in pretty bad shape. Then he sets one on fire to prove that it won't burn, since apparently reptile skin is impervious to fire. I purchase one and make the exchange of wallet contents right there on my table.

I decide to explore further down the street. I'm walking as I take in the sights and sounds of the market. The sun is reaching its set. The variety of products is beyond imagine. That's when I hear a familiar sound in an unfamiliar place.

"Take me to... the next.. whisky bar..."

"Oh, don't ask why"

I sit at an empty table, corner stage, a young Thai musician with an acoustic guitar woos the crowd emulating the English pitch. It's getting too dark for sunglasses. I'm going to stay here awhile.

Adjacent, laughter, all too commonly heard in England, mutters under the music. Across, four German third years are harassing an old woman who is selling blinky toys. Trying on her hats and jumping like chimps. Begging her to pose for group selfies. The general 'hi, my name is asshole, have we met' kind of guys. I look towards the English girls.

"Hey, you guys want to get out of here. If I stay, I'm going to end up getting my ass kicked."

They nod in unison. We head deeper into the street. A rush comes from the crowd. We join hands. A flash of young Thai pours into an alley. We follow suit.

The crowd pushes their way down a small alley. Down a flight of stairs. Through large open doors. We push open the entrance to a punk rock Narnia. A band thrashes on the stage as a pit jumps to the music. I make my way over to the bar and then join the Brits.

The brown oval room bounced to the sound of punk rock. Smiles fill the room. A brief moment in bliss. Three songs is all we were permitted. The room begins to empty.

We decide to follow the crowd into the night. We hit club by club, dancing closer and closer together. I catch eyes with one of my beautiful companions. The music continues to thump with each passing drink.

When the friend would go and get a drink or freshen up in the restroom, we sneak off to have a bit of alone time without her friend being the wiser. Stolen kisses, flashing lights, dancing stages, a whirlwind of the senses. Time is no longer a factor.

Getting caught up, the two of us didn't see her friend scowling at us from across the room. We exit into the brief cool night air. The two girls are arguing, while I light up a cigarette. The one girl grabs her friend a pulls her in the opposite direction. I peer over my shoulder as she is pulled into a cab.

I look out into the street and decide that it might be best for me to return to my hotel as well. I hail a blue tuk tuk and give the driver the name of my hotel. I can still smell the girl on my shirt. Such a beautiful girl she was. I rest my head back and look at the canopy. All I can think about is this girl. Her dark hair, porcelain skin, the kind of look you find in romantic comedies. Alcohol is not helping this situation.

"Hey, do you know where to find girls?"

Why the hell not, I'm in Bangkok after all.

"Ok, hmm. Yes I can find girls."

"Not ladyboys."

"Ok, real girls, don't worry."

You have to make a clear distinction of what you are looking for. It is hard to tell the difference, especially if you are intoxicated. It is easy to find yourself outside of your comfort zone and just as easy to push your carnal limits. Sin is to be found here.

The tuk tuk driver pulls hard to the right and we switch directions on the highway. Ok, let's see where this is heading. We cruise the relatively barren street, except for the scattered fellow taxis and tuk tuks filled with drunken tourists, we are alone on the motorway.

We pull off an exit and down an obscure dark road that ends with a square building that resembles an off the beaten path biker bar. The gravel crunches under the weight of the tuk tuk and we park.

"Ok, follow me."

He motions me towards the entrance as he walks to a familiar place. He smiles. He continues to assure me and laughs.

We enter and walk down a short dark corridor into a low lit purple room adorned with red velvet seating. Girls done up in cocktail dresses and club makeup wander about, many sitting in a cluster on a long plush couch that lines the wall.

He motions me again to the bar. He gives me the cost and hands me a beer. We are the only men in the establishment minus a few for security. I don't have enough cash, so I swipe my card and take a sip. He walks to the harem and brings over a pretty twenty-something year old girl. She tickles my chest. I'm in compliance.

We get back into the tuk tuk, she sits close to me. There is a light drizzle in the sky. We take off and head out back on the highway. The rain begins to get heavier and the canopy only offers so much protection, we have to curl up in the center. The cloud-filled sky sends a flood.

The tuk tuk begins to slow on the highway. It stalls. He kicks the pedal frantically. The girl gets out. He tells me to do the same. She walks to the sidewalk along the highway wall. The center of a hill on the highway and the tuk tuk won't move.

"You push!"

She starts walking down the sidewalk. He stares at me with wide eyes. I position my feet and extend my arms. The tuk tuk begins to move as he steers and continues to kick the starter. Rain forever pours and is reaching through my clothes, the girl walks head down under the giant street lights. Her dress splashing in the wind.

"Wa-Pap"

The engine fires and the machine comes to life. We quickly jump on and pick up the rain drenched girl. The ride back to the hotel is quick from here. She places her hand on my chest and her head on my shoulder. I begin to question my decision. Can I go through with this? Have I passed the point of no return?

We pull into the carport and all get out. He asks me for money for the taxi ride. I guess that was not included before and my pushing did not get me a discount. I run over to an ATM and pull out money for the week ahead, noticing it is better to have cash. I give him his due.

The girl and I enter the hotel and rush to the elevator. We get to my room with ease. Once inside we rush to grab the towels left for us by reception, my luggage had arrived as well and was wrapped.

We dry our hair and pat our clothes. I begin to take my clothes off and lay them over the chair to dry out. She strips as well. Slowly but in a manner of wanting to be out of wet clothes as well. I take everything off as I pat the water on every inch of my skin. I wrap myself in the driest towel.

She takes off her bra and reveals herself through the towel. One breast is easily three times the size of the other. She giggles.

"I go take shower now."

I nod and lay sprawled out on the welcoming bed. The sound of the shower head comes on. I crawl farther up the bed. I position myself between the pillows. I close my eyes. I listen to the sounds. The water pouring over a woman's body, the hum of the city. My eyes flutter.

I wake up. The room is empty. I panic. Oh shit. I search my pockets. Everything is there. My backpack is untouched and everything is in its place. The saran wrap on the luggage is intact. I pull out my wallet. I breathe deep. Only enough for a taxi is left inside. A weeks budget gone.

I decide it's time to go to the village. I head over to the agency. I tell them that I'm ready to leave. They tell me the times of the buses leaving in the morning and how to get there. Once again, no assistance outside of the office and I'm about to go to a village that I have done no research about.

I have an easy evening that night. I simply grabbed dinner from a local restaurant and stayed in my hotel room.

Early the next morning I head to the bus station. Everything is where it is supposed to be. I board the small bus as the men put my luggage underneath. The eight to ten hour journey to Taphanhin embarks...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66