Haute Route Switzerland (Solo Backpacking Trip Day 1)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Just got back from doing the Walkers Haute Route in Switzerland. This is a 9 - 14 day trip depending on if you skip some days of the trail by taking the bus, so the total distance traveled may vary. This is not an easy hike, there were points where Im like, "what am I doing here," "why is this mountain so steep," and "Ohhh, S#!t." When you make it to the top of the mountain, it makes the pain worth it.
DSC00126.jpg
Day 1,

I started out in Chamonix, France and hiked the 24 km to Trient, Switzerland. This was a easy hike to get you warmed up for the days to come. It took me a while to find the trail, but from then on it was just follow the signs.
DSC00131.jpg
Chamonix was not that expensive, I stayed at the campground for 8 EUR, I carried a tent and the total weight of my ruck was 25 lbs. When I left I just had a sandwich wrap and a bottle of water. I pretty much kept that bottle for refills for the rest of the trip. I didnt have a camel back, and water was plentiful on the trail, so 1 L was all I carried. I left at around 0700.
DSC00136.jpg
I made it to Le Tour and saw the cable car that went up the trail in 5 minutes, well it was either that or walk up the trail for 2.5 hours. I caved and took the cable car for 10 EUR.
DSC00141.jpg
From the cable car, it was like a 30 minute walk and I get to my second "Ohh S#!t" moment, the first one was when I was in Chamonix and saw Mount Blanc for the first time. I couldnt get a good picture of it because of the cloud coverage, but with the naked eye you could see though it to the top.
DSC00150.jpg
Just some random picture of the trail.
DSC00159.jpg
The second glacier on the trail. This trail goes up for 1 hour then youll get to an unmanned Hut, then its a 2 hour hike down to Trient. This part of the trail when I reached the hut was the beginning of a knee injury.

I dont know what happened but throughout this part of the trail, I was skipping rocks and I may have landed on it wrong or something. When I made it to the Unmanned Hut, I stopped to get some water and tape up a blister and the pain slow grew to the point where I couldnt bend my knee without being is so much pain. Now here I am, miles away from the next town and I can barley walk, oh and the trail is down hill with random boulders to make my journey that much easier. I just sat there for about 20 minutes took some pain killers and started to walk it off, to where the pain was tolerable. Then I started on the trail.
DSC00172.jpg
Yep, this part was slippery, would have been cool but I need to get to town before dark, and this path didnt make it easy for me.
DSC00178.jpg
Yep, there I am with no trekking pole. By the way I highly recommend a trekking pole, it will prevent dumb injuries like this.
DSC00174.jpg
I finally made it down the mountain and from there it was a 1 hour walk to the camp site and the trail was reasonably flat. So I just hobble my way there. My knee only hurt at that point when I bent it, as long as the trail was flat, I was good.
DSC00182.jpg
Made it to the camp site at around 1900, the people there were awesome. Someone there actually gave me their knee brace, which somewhat helped, it gave me more motivation to continue the hike on the next day. Only time would tell if I would be able to though, I just bought a bottle of red wine and finished it. Then went to sleep.

Sort:  

Congratulations @theelectronoob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a beautiful area for hiking. Nice pictures👍🏻 hope your knee is better.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, my knee is still stiff, but its getting better. Im just way too stubborn lol.

But if you have the time, I highly recommend it.

Good too hear. It is tempting to travel hiking in Europe. Lots.of nice places 👍🏻

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for participating in #travelfeed!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

I walked it 2 years ago, very memorable trip. My articles about this trek are also here in Steemit, if you wanna know more about it.

A very memorable trip indeed. I wish I new about your posts earlier, they would have been very helpful. Your picks are pretty cool.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #328. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73