My Backpacking Horror Story (Yosemite)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

1471375_916128978439821_8259324089464112380_n.jpg

For the first time solo backpacking, I went to Yosemite National Park (if you want to skip the intro, its starts at paragraph 4). I wanted to do my first trip in a popular spot, thinking it was less risk, but I happen to be only backpacker at this area since it was the off season. I always bring some sort of weapon when hiking but wanted to bring a gun for my solo trip, just in case. But I wasnt 21 at the time, so I brought the next best thing, a BB gun was a replica of a 357 revolver, it looked real and the hammer pulls back and makes the same click as the real thing, main reason why I bought it. Its C02 powered and strong enough to break the skin, its more of a scare tactic than anything.

11114.jpg

I got the wilderness permit for 4 nights, my plan was to go up Yosemite Falls for 2 nights and Half Dome for 2 nights. I was excited when I got there, late spring, I think, its the best time to go because the snow is still present at the peaks. The best part is that tourism is at a minimum. Im an avid hiker, and I dont like standing behind slow groups that stop at every switchback. These trials are narrow that I cant just walk around most of them, even though Im carrying a 40 pound ruck, Im still passing up people.

100_0425.JPG

When I made it up to the top, I was surprised that there was snow everywhere except for the trail, the temperature was around 50F. I found a nice campsite about 1 mile off trail, 100 feet off the river. The river made it easier to find my way back. I set up camp and did a little exploring/sightseeing, took a lot of pictures and got familiar with the area.

DSCN1860.JPG

(Horror Story)
At night, I was freezing, around 28F. It was a full moon so there was a nice glow of the terrain and my tent kinda reflected light, which made it easier to spot at night. I didnt get that much sleep that night, mostly because I did not prepare enough, my sleeping bag was not rated for that low temperature, it was more of a summer bag. My arms and legs were starting to get numb, constantly shivering. I kept checking the time and was always disappointed, it was around 1130 at this point. Each time I check the time only 5 minutes passed by, it was a long nigh. I was contemplating going out and starting a fire, but I just brought out the MRE heater. My tent was vented so I figured it was safe. It warmed me up enough I finally fell asleep.

100_0426.JPG

But then after what felt like 30 minutes, I heard heavy footsteps coming from the trail out in the distance. I couldnt tell what it was, thinking it was a bear or a deer, but as the steps got closer, I could here they were bipedal. The footsteps stopped for like 30 seconds, I started to go over contingencies. The footsteps started walking again, directly towards my tent. They were getting louder, and louder, and they were so close that I could hear the rocks skipping across the ground. The footsteps stopped right next to my tent.


(i.ytimg.com/vi/cQmMBnevVjs/maxresdefault.jpg)
What was going through my mind at this point.

At this point, I already had my “gun” in my hands and my kaybar ready. (getting chills as I write this) After a few seconds, I felt a thump on the top of my head, who ever that was just kicked me. It was a tap, Im guessing it was to see what was bulging out of the tent side. At that point, my adrenaline was in high gear, my mind was going a million miles a second. I was on a slight incline that my body slid to the edge of the tent, MY HEAD WAS BULGING OUTSIDE OF THE TENT!!! I did not want to let them know that what they kicked was my head.

Im in a sleeping bag, so my movement was minimum, I would not be able to move out the way fast enough if they figured out that was my head. I didnt want to run outside my tent because they may not be alone, I could have been lead to some trap. My best bet was to stay silent and to make small movements, enough to not compromise the position of how I was laying. My body started to get hot, I could feel my blood circulating to my arms, my extremities no longer numb, I grabbed my ‘gun’ and pointed at where I thought they were. I pulled the hammer back to hear that click, and just sat there, hoping they would hear it and get the picture. There was silence, I held my gun up there for about a minute, it probably was less but it felt like forever.

Eventually, the footsteps turn back to the trail and start walking away. I had a big sigh of relief, re-positioned myself and I did not sleep the rest of the night. That person didnt say a word, I didnt know what their intention were and what would of happened if I did not have that revolver. Its in the off season, so the rangers would not be patrolling, I was on my own. It was around 0300 when I checked the time. When morning came, I packed up camp and hiked back down the cliff and straight to my car. I just went home.

Sort:  

Wow that's a crazy story. Thanks for sharing. I've never experienced anything like that camping but it was a good thing you were prepared. The moral of the story must be only go camping in season.

I hate camping and this story does not help change my mind at all. Glad you didn't freeze to death and/or get further assaulted.

I am one of the curators for steemit worldmap's daily travel digest. You should add this to the map.

If you're interested, go to Steemitworldmap
Click the code slider at the bottom
Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
Copy and paste the generated code in your post
Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cool, thank you. I added this to the map.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=theelectronoob
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-backpacking-horror-story-yosemite


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi your article is very good.
i want to translate it and share your idea with people around me.
am from China, Beijing.
hope can get your early response discuss about this.
Thank you so much for your sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75