Walkers Haute Route (Le Chable to Prafleuri Day 3)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Day 3,

I woke up at around 0600 and left the bomb shelter (hostel) as soon as possible, filled up on water and had a sandwich wrap for breakfast. Now the perks of staying in that hostel gave me a free ride on the cable cars to the top of the mountain. I caved again and took the first cable car up, then the second, then the third, but at this point I started to feel guilty for not doing the hike. I didnt take the next one, but the cable cars would have taken me all the way to the next cabin. I was a 1 hour walk away from the cabin.

This is the view from the cable car I got off.
DSC00234.jpg

DSC00242.jpg

I felt good not taking that cable car up to the top.
DSC00243.jpg

This view is one of my favorite, but basically on this hike every view is my favorite.
DSC00237.jpg

Here is the cabin, I like how they maximize the space by not having stairs. Food here was kind of expensive, so I ended up just continuing the hike without eating here. Yep, I only ate a sandwich wrap for the day.
DSC00251.jpg.

Well this was the easy part of the trail.
DSC00252.jpg

From this point on, this the technical part of the trail, meaning I need to take this slow and steady. Try not to create a rockslide or slip on the loose gravel and fall myself. I took the painkillers and at this point my knee want an issue. Also the altitude, around 2.7 km going to around 2.9 km, was kicking my butt, I felt like I had asthma, I live at sea level.
DSC_0201.JPG

Im getting above the clouds.
DSC_0204.JPG

Good thing I had gloves, I used my fingers as crampons. It was cool seeing snow, but I should have brought a trekking pole.
DSC_0207.JPG

I wish I took more pictures of the terrain, but I needed to get off that mountain as fast as possible. I could hear rock slides all around me, and there was one withing 100 meters. I didnt want to test my agility. The first "what am I doing here moment" kinda sunk in.

But somehow I found myself off trail and this was the safest path to get back on. There is no true trail here, just markers to follow.
DSC_0211.JPG

Made it to the Top at 2.9 km, now just got to get down, and the other side is pretty much the same as going up, just a little shorter.
DSC_0213.JPG

DSC_0234.JPG

DSC_0237.JPG

Soo happy to finally see this, I showed up 2 to 3 hours before they started to serve dinner. It was 27 CHF for the bed and 25 CHF for dinner. Best food I had all trip, they came out with a 5 course meal like a buffet. I had like 2-4 plates of everything they served, mixing all the foods. So worth it.

Again during dinner the pain in my knee started again, it was the same as the nights before so I just dealt with it, and will decide if I continue the trail in the morning.
DSC_0243.JPG

Sort:  

@theelectronoob, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!

I love the mountains on this 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

What a breath taking day ! And it has been amazing to following this series of yours so far ! I hope there's more to come, and soon <3

The photos are very lovely, and your text really brings the audience in <3 Beautiful post !

Dear @theelectronoob,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #331. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Congratulations @theelectronoob! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70