Travel Hack #8: Get Upgraded FREE! (And the psychology behind it!)

in #travel6 years ago


Get upgraded for free, and find out the psychology behind why it works! Video transcribed below!!

[00:01] Hi, I'm Amy Honey, I'm Jamie honey and we are at I'm @thehoneys . I'm at @eventspeaker …. and we're here with a travel hack for you on how we get upgraded for free and the psychology behind it. So once free. Yay. One's upgrades. Upgrades are great. It's a little harder to get upgraded on the planes but it can be done. Mostly we usually get upgraded at the hotels where they upgrade our room and upgrade to the concierge's lounge, which I've talked about. The concierge lounge. It's great to have you. We're flying on different flights because Amy's off to where are you off to?.

I'm going to Minneapolis, Minneapolis
Look at me. The caring husband. I don't know. I'm off to New York. Got the better end of the deal. He knows how much I love New York City. I'm only like a couple of blocks from central park central and you get all day Monday that park in the center, central park greatly anyway, so you to say hang out but go.

[00:59] Yeah. So on the flight today and my bag was way over, but she upgraded it like she didn't charge me extra for the weight because of the way I approached her when I came up to. So this is one of the things Amy's leading into when you approach any of the service staff with a smile, with a, with a joyfulness. And we do a little bit of a joke we'd like to make. Our first desire is to see if we can make that person smile or laugh or laugh. And I got my lady laughing today tonight and get upgraded, but I made her smile. And you know what? That goes a long way, especially in the service industry when they're dealing with people all day. And a lot of times it's like at the airports, Jamie see’s grumpy people. It's like that movie.

[01:43] Sixth sense, I see dead people. You walked through the airport and you're like, I see grumpy people, they are so grumpy and these and they're having to deal with them. And it's super, super tough for them. They're having a tough day and they're just trying to get through their day just like you are, you know, so how would you like to be treated?

Treat people that way. I mean it's a simple concept, but we forget about it when we don't know them on a personal basis, but imagine that we did imagine that everyone's your friend and you smile, you greet them and you have warmth when you approach them and then see if you make them smile and then listen to what they're saying, the tone in their voice, how they're speaking. If the shop, if they're abrupt, they are probably on a tight schedule so you want to be quick, but if they engage back to you with a little bit of playfulness, then you are a highlight in their day and when you increase the joy you make their day!

[02:37] It's the law of reciprocity, reciprocity, repro represented. It's a great law where I give you something. You want to give it back anyway. You don't need to say it to be able to use it, but then at the hotels what we do, and it's the psychology behind it we made our first goal of course, is to make them laugh, but we always ask them for something that they can't give us. So for instance, if I know that there's no tubs in the room, I will ask, Hey, are there any tubs? Does the room have a tub in it? And they're like, no. And then, and I've already made them laugh, have already made them feel at ease. And so then I'll ask him for something else that, um, that the hotel might not have, you know, that they have to tell me no to. And then I asked him for something that I want, which is like, well, does the room come with breakfast?

[03:22] And then they're like, well, the room, your room, does it come with breakfast? But here I'll just add it on. And that happens. I'd say nine times out of 10 for us. Yeah. We get upgraded either to a king suite, a king rooms with the actual little lounge where you can get free stuff all day long, concierges lounge or you know, there's all kinds of different upgrades they can do and if you've made them laugh and smile and had fun with them and kind of brighten their day, they're going to want to give you something. You've got the announcer right over our head, so hopefully you can still hear us. It's weird. We're looking straight up on high. It's just not really there. That's an actual speaker, we are humans speakers different thing. Totally. But what was it like when I go, I'll say, oh, do you have a tortoise that sneezes gold?

[04:08] And they're like, what? I thought like, Oh, I wish I had one. That's nice. Has Gone on. Oh, well if you don't have a tortoise, here, have breakfast on us. What about breakfast? Do you guys have breakfast? He's like, yeah, but it's not in your room, but here, look, I'll just give it to you so have fun and then ask for something that's kind of playful but outside of the range that they have to say no to. Yeah, because when they say no, they're in the service industry, they're trained to say yes. So you can use that habit that they have in their work environment to your benefit. Absolutely. And that's how we get upgraded for free. That's it. That's our travel hack and you know what? And just pay it forward. Make somebody else smile, you know, brighten someone's Day. It's not that hard. Right? As soon as, as soon as Amy stops standing on my foot, I will smile. That's how she's going to make me smile today. Start stomping. I'll see you guys later.

Find us on Discord at thehoneys#6857
Or find us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/thehoneydare
Amy&JamieHoney-SQP-BANNER-HEADER.jpg

Check out The Honey DARE

Amy Honey

Jamie Honey


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Good stuff. I don't travel a lot so good to know, thanks for the advice!

This is so amazingly true and it applies to everything in life! And we're human so we have our own grumpy tough days but what I've found, especially when your frustrated with the company itself, is I always tell the rep I'm talking to to "I'm absolutely not frustrated with you, I know you're doing your best to make sure I'm taken care of, it's just been a really frustrating day so I appreciate you taking the time to help me". They can always sympathize with that because they've been there and naturally they'll want to help the situation. All about communication

You guys are amazing and have so much to offer the world. Lots of love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99