Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Final Thoughts

in #travel6 years ago


DSCN0658.JPG

☠️ Final Thoughts ☠️

 
Mototbike safety is a huge topic for me.
When I was younger I nearly lost my life on a motorbike, and I know it doesn't take much to change your life forever.
You can read more about my accident here.
This was a motivating factor to try and give advice to others who love their motorbikes too.
I do see some really dangerous behavior when I'm riding, so if my tips for motorbike safety can help someone it would make my day.

I honestly think I have covered all aspects of safety on motorbikes, maybe there is one or two I'm forgeting so if there is something please leave a comment below :)
Let's recap some of the things I have covered in this series.

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe

 
In my initial series post I talked about unfamiliar roads and to be cautious of them, this stems from a personal experience where I was relying on the signs that signal how fast a corner should be taken.
I was approaching a bend which had no rating, but should have been rated at about 45kms per hour. I took it at 100 kms per hour and came very close to crashing on the corner. I was lucky the corner gradually kept getting tighter so I was able to prevent the accident by leaning like mad and braking.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Be Observant at Intersections

 
In the next part of my series I talked about intersections and how they can be one of the most dangerous places for riders.
You should always be observant and watch other drivers. If they aren't looking at you they probably aren't paying attention.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Be Observant at Intersections

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Stay Out of the Blind Spot

 
In the next part of my series I talked about blind spots.
You should always be mindful of other drivers and their blind spots. If necessary speed up a little or slow down so your not sitting in the blind spot.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Stay Out of the Blind Spot

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Lane Splitting

 
In the next part of my series I talked about lane splitting.
Lane splitting is very beneficial for motorbike riders, as but allowing us to lane split we don't have to worry about inattentive drivers slamming into us from behind. this isn't a big deal if you in a car but on a bike it could cost you your life.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Lane Splitting

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Parked cars

 
In the next part of my series I talked about parked cars.
It's always wise to distance yourself from a parked car as much as possible.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Parked cars

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Maintaining Stopping Distance

 
In the next part of this series I talked about stopping distance.
You should always maintain a safe stopping distance from the car in front. This is relative to the speed your traveling at.
Always remember that the brakes on your bike are better that the car behind you, so it's wise to not brake at 100% all the time if you don't have to.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Maintaining Stopping Distance

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Loud Exhaust

 
In the next part of my series I talked about loud exhausts.
Having a loud exhaust does have a range of benefits, which help to keep you and other people safe.
I think it's wise to have a loud exhaust on your bike, not only for sounding cool :)

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Loud Exhaust

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Qualified Servicing

 
I also talked about getting qualified people to service your bike.
We all like to cut corners, but having a bike which is in the best possible working order is high on my list.
I always pay that bit extra for a fully qualified service rather than do it myself.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Qualified Servicing

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Avoiding Drugs and Alcohol

 
This is one that is really important for all drivers, but I think is highly critical for motorbike riders.
As bike riders we face many more hazards on the road, people just don't see us. This is why we need to be fully alert and ready to mitigate all hazards.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Avoiding Drugs and Alcohol

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Lane Positioning

 
In this next part of the series I talked a little bit about lane positioning.
If you can position yourself in the lane so other drivers can see you sooner then it's a really good thing.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Lane Positioning

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Bike Convoys

 
In this part of the series I talked about bike convoys.
Joining a bike convoy or forming one with another rider is a great way to increase your visibility on the road.
I always like to do this where possible.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Bike Convoys

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Caution With Cleaning Products

 
For this part of the series I talked about cleaning products.
You should always be a little cautious when using them, if your giving your bike a high pressure was you could damage a critical part of your bike.
If that part fails it can result in an accident.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Caution With Cleaning Products

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Riding to the Conditions - Wet Weather

 
In this part of my series, I talked about wet weather.
You should always ride to your conditions and if the weather is wet and raining then extra caution should be taken.
It's real easy to slide out.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Riding to the Conditions - Wet Weather

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Hi Vis Gear

 
High Vis gear is rather important on a bike.
I don't always wear my high vis gear but when it's dark and I decide to go for a night cruise I like to chuck it on.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Hi Vis Gear

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Riding to the Conditions - Windy Conditions

 
In this part of the series I talk about windy conditions.
Riding when it's really windy can be really dangerous. On the bike you really get blown around a lot and it's like riding in a washing machine.
I always ride really carefully when it's strong winds, even more cautious than when it's wet.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Riding to the Conditions - Windy Conditions

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Riding to the Conditions - Safety Checks

 
Safety checks are really important for riders.
If you decide to go for a ride and your brake light or something is not working, you could end up in a crash.
About every 2 weeks I like to just spend a few mins checking everything.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Safety Checks

☠️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Riding to the Conditions - Helmet Cams

 
In the final part of my series I talked about helmet cams.
Helmet cams are a great way to avoid getting into incidents of road rage.
I also talked about mounting them safety and to never go drilling and holes in your helmet, or doing anything else which may damage the structural integrity of the helmet.

☣️ Motorcycle Riding Tips for Keeping Safe - Helmet Cams

steemit-hr.png

Well this concludes my motorbike safety series.
I hope I have been able to help someone keep just a little bit safer on the road :)

Sort:  

this is good stuff all riders would be wise to review! I have resteemed several of these but went ahead and did this one as well since it has links to all of them

Thanks m8, yeah some really handy tips which most people might overlook. But because of me accident I'm very conscious of safety now :)

like your motorcycle

You got a 2.11% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @thevillan!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95