I Faced a Pack of Feral Dogs - Here’s what I Learned

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

thisishowidie12.jpg

photoreel02.jpg

I'm an adventurer, thrill seeker, and life enthusiast with a shorter life expectancy than your mother's cat - Follow my never-ending journey.



I was on a 65-day cycling journey from Holland to Istanbul.

bike01.jpg

I had been following the Danube river for weeks; cycling through Austria, Slovenia, Bulgaria, and Serbia when suddenly…

A pack of snarling, amber-eyed dogs appeared out of nowhere and tried to bite my ankles.

I tried to scare them away; I yelled at them, made myself as large as possible, and even tried kicking them with my boot.

bike02.jpg

I tried to talk them down, tried to out-cycle them, and even dropped a delicious ham sandwich hoping they would leave me alone.

It didn't work.

Whatever I tried; the dogs just kept coming at me.

Throughout the Balkan countries I was repeatedly attacked by feral dogs, and over time I developed somewhat of a phobia for these vicious animals.

I was about to enter Romania, a country that— according to rumour— had more street dogs than all the other nations combined.

Before I crossed the border, I loaded up the map case on my steering wheel with as many rocks as I could fit.

bike03.jpg

It didn't take long for the first packs of dogs to appear. I bombarded them with rocks of various sizes, making sure I didn't hit them. I just wanted to scare them off.

Unfortunately; they remained unfazed.

Day after day I'd cycle myself entirely out of breath to escape these dogs. Sometimes this led to dangerous situations as my fear-ridden brain ignored all other traffic.

One afternoon, while sitting in a small village, I saw dogs chasing a local on a bicycle. The saliva was dripping from their teeth as they went after the man in a complete frenzy.

To my surprise, the pursuit didn't last long.

The local man got off his bike, stood tall, and quietly faced the dogs.

Instantly, the dogs calmed down, and soon after they took off.

Was this guy a dog whisperer? How did he get the dogs to back off so quickly?

He explained that Romanian dogs get very aggressive towards people on bicycles because they don't often see people on bikes. It's unfamiliar to them, so their instinct tells them to be aggressive.

When you're on a bicycle, the dogs don't recognise you to be human, but as soon as you get off, they do.

I had to try it to believe it.

At first, I was hesitant to slow down, get off my bicycle, and face a pack of feral dogs without a means of escape. However, as soon as I did, the dogs lost interest and wandered off.

When you're riding a bicycle 8 hours a day, for 65 days straight, you have a lot of time to think.

I started to think about what other fears I used to outrun, and I realised that crossing that barrier of fear had never been as bad as I expected it to be.

Most of us rather deny a crippling fear than face it, but if you slow down, remove your option of retreat, and directly confront your phobia; you will see it is never as bad as you imagined it to be.

At the end of my trip, after 65 days, I had cycled 3300 kilometres, experienced over 50 dog attacks, and overcame my fear of those attacks by no longer running from them.

bike04.jpg



Follow me on Steemit @thisishowidie
Follow me via my website henkvanderklok.com
Watch my TEDx Talk The Surprising Benefit Of Trying Something New
A big thank you to all my followers and supporters for enjoying the content and helping me sustain my endless adventures & explorations.


Have you done something new today?

Sort:  

Wow, i like your post 👍👍

When I travelled round the world in the 1990s I used to sometimes see ferocious dogs, and usually I didn't even need to throw a rock - they would run away as soon as I lifted my arm. I only hired a bike once during my travels, and I did have a dog chasing after me for a while - luckily not a whole pack of them! I was told that they get mesmerised by the rotating spokes.

I love your post and especially your way of life!

Just do it ✌️ That’s very brave...

And thank you for the explanation. Hope that would work with every dog attak... I‘m a little bit scared, too... as more I come to the south, as more dogs are barking everywhere... I hope they are somewhere inside 😅

Hi Rebecca,

So you're somewhere in those parts of the world, eh? Gotta stay alert :) I'm sure you'll be fine though.
Safe travels!

I'm always alerted... =) But I can rush in my car if there is something scary!

Very interesting read. I was a little upset when I saw the rocks, but glad it didn't result in harming the animals. Good read. Thanks

Yes, they do look intense. I was aiming left and right of the dogs, hoping it would scare them off, but no.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.23% vote... I was summoned by @thisishowidie! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You got a 0.91% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @thisishowidie!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received a 0.81% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

This post has received a 0.14% upvote from thanks to: @thisishowidie.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

You got a 4.03% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @thisishowidie!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77