Mississippi Solo Series #4 - How to Paddle Through a Lock in 10 Easy Steps

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

thisishowidie15.jpg

photoreel04.jpg

I'm an adventurer, thrill seeker, and life enthusiast with a shorter life expectancy than your mother's cat - Follow my never-ending journey.



Mississippi Solo Series - After friends and family label him a serial quitter, Henk sets off on a wild ride down the Mighty Mississippi as he paddles from Source to Sea to prove to himself and others​ that he can stick with something.
horizontalline1.png

Read previous post in this series: Part 1 | Part 2| Part 3



For three weeks I had been socially isolated.



Aside from a few interactions with fishers, hikers, and locals living along the riverside, I hadn't spoken to anyone.




With virtually no human contact, it didn't take long before I found other friends. Of course, this squirrel was all too willing to be my friend in return for some snacks.

Being on your own can get quite lonely, but it also means you can do whatever you want. Here's me claiming my private island, and reenacting a legendary Gandalf scene: You Shall Not Pass!

02.jpg


Why?

Well, because I could.

Luckily, I soon after reemerged into civilisation. However, this also meant I would have to deal with man-made structures like dams. And whenever there was a dam, I had to portage.

03.jpg


To portage means to carry your boat and it's cargo between to navigable waters. In this case the river before and after the dam. In the early stages of the Mississippi River, there were quite a few portages, and for me, this was quite a struggle.

Most people use a technology known as wheels to help transport their boat to the other side.

04.jpg

Unfortunately, I made a misjudgement and figured it was a waste of space and money. A decision I painfully regret.

05.jpg


And so, I became known as the idiot hauling his boat along the side of the road…

06.jpg

But I guess fortune favours the dumb because during one of these strenuous portages I met Brian, a local campground host. He saw me towing my boat across the land, all by myself. So he got out his tiny tractor and gave me a helping hand.

07.jpg


After I finally got the hang of portaging, the river one-upped me with the arrival of giant locks.

Yay.

08.jpg


So, how do you paddle a kayak through a giant lock? Well, I created a little how-to manual that shows you exactly how to pull it off.

09.jpg



Now that humans managed the water levels, I made a lot more progress. I was close to 40 days on the river; I had no more neck pains, my arms and shoulders had become incredibly strong, and without giant lakes to slow me down, I had paddled a total of 925 kilometres.

10.jpg



NEXT TIME >>



I fought a homeless man over a cave.

11.jpg

And I crossed into the next state; Iowa.

12.jpg


Follow me so you don't miss the next post.



Follow me on Steemit @thisishowidie
Follow me via my website henkvanderklok.com
Watch my TEDx Talk The Surprising Benefit Of Trying Something New
A big thank you to all my followers and supporters for enjoying the content and helping me sustain my endless adventures & explorations.


Have you done something new today?

Sort:  

Can you get your new squirrel friend to do the Gandalf pose?

That little critter is so cute. So was the rock you slept in cold?
Very nice post. Joy

Ooh yes, it was kind of cold, but I made a fire, using a dollar bill a tinder. You'll see it in the next post!

You got a 0.98% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @thisishowidie!

You got a 1.49% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @thisishowidie!

@minnowfairy has sprinkled your post with a 10.47% upvote, courtesy of @thisishowidie!

Join our UPVOTE MY POST raffle draw contest and you could get a FREE upvote from @minnowfairy. Contest ends Feb 28, 2018. Click here for more details

You got a 3.17% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @thisishowidie!

Thank you so much for using our service!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 7.55% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @thisishowidie!

You got a 5.56% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @thisishowidie. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

You got a 8.11% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @thisishowidie! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

@thisishowidie Congratulations! This post has been chosen to be featured in THE RED LAMBO PIT STOP. Check out the post here.

Keep on providing excellent content for the Steemit community and use @redlambo & #redlambo for another chance to be featured.

~ @redlambo
"Lamboing your content to the moon!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78