Discovering Seattle - Part One

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


About a week ago I got to visit Seattle. With spectaculair views, art on every corner and plenty of indie shops, I really loved it.

On the day we arrived, we took the light rail from our hotel (that had a strong resemblance to the original Twin Peaks hotel: the Great Northern Hotel - love that series!) to downtown Seattle.

We had some pretty spectaculair views on the way that I unfortunately didn't really manage to capture with the speed and through the dirty glass... Luckily, I managed to take loads of other snaps once we arrived.

We walked down to Pike Place Market overlooking the Elliott Bay and which during the day is a busy farmers market.

One of its attractions is the fish market where fishmongers throw fish around.

I managed to find a few videos on YouTube demonstrating the fish throwing. This one was the best:

We explored Pike Place Market and the surrounding areas and had a little stroll along the Gum Wall. And yes, this is an area solely dedicated to people sticking their chewing gum against the wall. The result is somehow strangely fascinating if you can get over your initial discomfort.

The gum was removed in 2015 for the first time in 20 years due to concern about the bricks degenerating due to the sugar in the chewing gum! Think about that when you next feel like eating a Mars bar, jarred pasta sauce or really anything for that matter... I know, it's depressing. If it makes you feel any better, watch this time lapse video of how the city of Seattle combats sugar:

Back to awe and wonder. As we continued walking, I noticed that there is an absolute abundance of street art and sculpture in downtown Seattle. A big part of it seemed aquatic inspired, but I also encountered a giant hammering man statue (with actual hammering in motion) and a larger than life upturned red umbrella.

We made our way to the Space Needle which is a pretty clever piece of architecture that was built in 1962 and has since become the icon of Seattle. You can go up to the observation deck and there is a rotating restaurant. I didn't go up, but the view from the ground was probably equally impressive as the lit needle looked like some setting out of Star Wars.

We then went to see a show at the Laser Dome in the Pacific Science Center. LASER GAGA, not even joking. Best experienced laying on the floor in the middle of the dome preferably with duvet and pillow (we weren't as prepared). It was definitely interesting and probably slightly more enjoyable when no one in your vicinity is channelling an off tune Lady Gaga, also not joking.

You name it and it's on YouTube so it seems, even Laser Gaga complete with off tune singing. So just because I love you all so much, from me to you with much Gaga love:

I know, quite something, huh? After this performance where half of my travel companions may or may not have dozed off, it was definitely time to catch the Monorail to catch the Light Rail to catch the Shuttle back to the hotel. Luckily the hotel serves warm chocolate chip cookies, complementary and around the clock, the thought of which makes most anything bearable.

Stay tuned for part two, as I've got still more great views and more lovely art than my phone storage management application knows what to do with. As always, all footage is taken by me with my delightful Android phone apart from the YouTube videos.




I post about my work and what inspires me! Follow my journey as a pattern designer and let me introduce you to art, people and places I find inspirational here.

Sort:  

You're making me miss this city - and I haven't been since 1991!

Got family out there though. Maybe it's time to pay them a visit!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tishyaoedit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Hi there, this is a really awesome post, I enjoyed the tour.

By the way, your link doesn't actually work:

Thanks for letting me know! Feel rather silly, as I've been using this link forever now, using it of a template I made for the end of my posts, never noticing the link wasn't quite right...

You're welcome! :)

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

The last time I was in Seattle a car ran over my foot and then I got Starbucks. 8/10 would go again.

Not so great for your foot, but - was that Starbucks at least THE first ever Starbucks?

I doubt it. It was probably the closest one from where the foot incident took place.

You would have known, there would have been a huge queue, would not have been ideal for injured foot anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69430.02
ETH 3814.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66