COSTA RICA TRAVEL: Volume 1!!!

in #travel6 years ago

Costa Rica Travel Series.jpg

Before I start this blog let me inform you on two things. 1) My Mom is a fellow Traveler. 2) At the age of 18 I was dying to go on an adventure outside of the country and with me learning Spanish Central America seemed like the perfect place.

Costa Rica, a beautiful country whose literal translation in Spanish means "Rich Coast". The country sits at the bottom of Central America only north of Panama. Known for its great surfing beaches, biodiversity, volcanoes, and cloud forests, it does not take a seasoned traveler to know that it's a great destination. I was so eager to go on this trip that I offered to my Mom if she payed our accommodations, activities, and food then I'd pay our airline tickets. Now, I have one HUGE advantage when it comes to flying to Central or South America from the United States, I live in Florida. Yeaaaah that's right I was raised in sunny Florida where we have warm weather, great beaches, and some of the cheapest flights in the country (heading south). And those cheap flights leaving the country are usually on one of my favorite "budget" airlines, Spirit. All in all the tickets from Fort Lauderdale to San Jose (the capital and largest city) Costa Rica cost around $500 for the two of us. 20170826_125429.jpg
The flight only took anywhere between 2 1/2 to 3 hours from take-off to touchdown. Once we landed it was off to the car rental agency. We jumped in a Taxi where I was able to practice my Spanish before we arrived there. HERE is a tip for any Traveler in Costa Rica, car rental is Expensive!!! Prices per day for a car/suv (or any vehicle) are actually higher than the U.S. I don't know if that is because of the undeveloped roads requiring extra maintenance to the cars but you have been warned! Also, rent a GPS if you have the option. GPS rental at the car rental agency is very expensive compared to the price of a actual handheld GPS in 2018 hahaha (like $60 for the week), I think they fetch between $45-80 in the States used. But, it is almost a necessity. The lack of signage and underdeveloped roads like I mentioned create a scenario where it's hard to navigate the country on your own. After all the paperwork and signatures we loaded in the car and headed to the first destination, which was more than 100 miles away! HEY YOU thank you for reading the 1st volume of my travel series in Costa Rica!!! This will be a multi-part series that you will not want to miss, so follow this page and support! Hey thank you guys -Adam (Below is a picture of San Jose CR)20170826_145149.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66407.66
ETH 3025.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69