THAILAND TRAVELS! Tiger Cave Temple, Emerald Pool, and Hot Spring Waterfalls!

in #travel6 years ago


After 7 months in Australia we had two months to kill before we had to be in England for my sisters Law School graduation. We wanted to go somewhere that was relatively cheap and I was craving a bit of a culture shock, so we picked Thailand. My husband and I are huge fans of anywhere that's hot and has pretty beaches so we were happy with our choice!

tigercave3.jpg
Phra Nang Beach, Krabi


Not kidding, the water was almost as warm as a hot tub!

Krabi was by far one of our favourite spots! Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Phra Nang Cave - they all look like a screensaver! While we were in that area, it was recommended to us to check out Tiger Cave Temple. We ended up booking a tour that took us not only to the temple, but to Hot Spring Waterfalls and the Emerald Pool at Khao Phra Bang Khram Nature Reserve. This was one of our favourite excursions that we did, and it really just opened our eyes to what Thailand has to offer!

IMG_2299.JPG
Hot Spring Waterfall

IMG_2360.JPG
Crystal (Emerald) Pool

Our final stop was at Tiger Cave Temple. It is one of the most sacred Buddhist Temples in the province and is just northeast from Krabi. There are different stories on how the temple got its name, one being that a monk went to meditate in the cave and saw tigers roaming around the outside of it. Another one says that a large tiger used to live in the cave and that there are tiger paw prints on the inside of the cave to prove it, and the last one I heard was that the cave is shaped like a giant tiger paw. It's totally up to you which one you choose to believe.

IMG_2368.JPG

IMG_2370.JPG

There are also monkeys everywhere! They are used to human and for the most part seem friendly, but trust me when I say DO NOT TOUCH THE MONKEYS!!! People get bit all the time and end up going to the hospital to make sure that they don't have rabies. I stupidly forgot this piece of advice and touched the back of a monkey who had just taken food from me, and he swung around, swatted, and hissed at me. No bite, but it was an error in judgement that I definitely won't make again!

IMG_2412.JPG

IMG_2397.JPG

One of the most popular things to do at the Tiger Cave Temple is to climb the 1237 (I think it's more though!) to the golden Buddha temple at the top of the mountain. Now hear me when I say - this is not a walk in the park! It's so effing hot, and 1200 steps might not sound like a lot, but when you're in the Thailand heat it's a lot to take on. My first piece of advice? Take water! And not just one bottle, take two. You'll have a chance to refill them at the top, but trust me you'll go through both of those bottles on the way up. Next? Take your time. Don't rush up. There are some pretty amazing views from different levels on the way up so stop and enjoy them.

IMG_2422.JPG

Once you're at the top, relax! Take some time to enjoy what you climbed all the way up there to see. It's pretty spectacular! The golden Buddha, the view, the temple - it's all sitting on the top of a mountain peak! Pretty crazy.

tigercave2.jpg

tigercavetemple.jpg
In case you didn't notice, I'm completely covered in sweat!

IMG_2450.JPG

IMG_2435.JPG

Wait until your legs are shaking anymore before you head down, and don't forget to refill your water! Both my hubby and I had shaky legs all the way back down and that in itself was draining!

As I mentioned, this excursion was one of the best that we did. Definitely look into it if you find yourself in Thailand!

IMG_2384.JPG

IMG_2379.JPG

IMG_2389.JPG

Sort:  

I LOVE Thailand. And Railay Beach was one of my first stops when I backpacked there, but I totally missed out on the waterfalls and hot springs. Good to know there are still some places to visit that I haven't - thanks for sharing :-)

@ingaaa we loved that whole area! Would go back in heartbeat! <3

That looks like a great excursion. I didn't do that one when I was there. I'll definitely look for it if I go back to Bangkok. All 3 parts look worth doing.

당신의 여행 사진은 나를 가보고 싶게 만드는 군 요.

I wish you much success! here my profile if you are interested in some fun and my owl

Hey @travelingsomm , this is amazing , nice hot.
I would like to add a quote here , that may be helpful to bloggers on this platform;

Why You Should Upvote Comments!!!!
I've noticed alot of people doesnt reward their followers, and their commenters on here.
It's a shame.
When someone takes the time to not only read your post but to leave a comment. Even throwing your small vote their way does a lot of great things...
They are More Likely To Follow You;
I'm not saying you should upvote every single comment you get. I try and look for those that I feel provide value to the post. When they see that you upvoted their comment and they will be rewarded as a result. This encourages them to follow you; Then you'll have a regular on your post.
You can grow your followers so that they can grow you;
If they choose to keep their Steem in their account, They may power it up. If you continuously are upvoting their great comments, then they will steadily grow overtime. Their vote will be worth even more, and they'll be able to upvote you, The upvotes you gave them helps them grow, so they have more power on the platform.

Hey @travelingsomm , this is amazing , nice hot.
I would like to add a quote here , that may be helpful to bloggers on this platform;

Why You Should Upvote Comments!!!!
I've noticed alot of people doesnt reward their followers, and their commenters on here.
It's a shame.
When someone takes the time to not only read your post but to leave a comment. Even throwing your small vote their way does a lot of great things...
They are More Likely To Follow You;
I'm not saying you should upvote every single comment you get. I try and look for those that I feel provide value to the post. When they see that you upvoted their comment and they will be rewarded as a result. This encourages them to follow you; Then you'll have a regular on your post.
You can grow your followers so that they can grow you;
If they choose to keep their Steem in their account, They may power it up. If you continuously are upvoting their great comments, then they will steadily grow overtime. Their vote will be worth even more, and they'll be able to upvote you, The upvotes you gave them helps them grow, so they have more power on the platform.

Nice hint Bro...we need each other to grow.

LOL ... no matter where you go. Monkeys are not to be trusted:)Looked like a great trip. Loved that waterfall:)

this is really amazing love your shots, you look gorgeous, the places are really wonderful.

wooow !!! verry niice and beautiful pictures ! i love thes place ! good work !! upvote and fellow for you !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94