São Paulo: A divided city - Travelguide

in #travel6 years ago

The next day I wake up early, I planned to go to another hostel more in the inner city, if I had taken a Taxi here yesterday night I would have paid way to much for my opinion. 

So let´s go.

Walking threw Sao Paulo to the metro, changing the line several times, having problems because my portugues is not that good. All problems I had to deal with, but finally, three hours later, totally sweated, I arrived at the hostel. I planned to stay there for 3 or 4 nights, I do usually stay as long as I want and do not plan everything fixed. Stay were you like it. 

The Hostel was really nice, housing people from all over the world, UK, Canada, Spain, great experience. It was located in Bella Vista, close to the new centre of Sao Paulo, the Avenida Paulista


The first day, I just walked around a bit, to get an impression of the city, skyscrapers everywhere, tons of people around in every street. Lots of Banks, Shopping Malls and Museums, things for the upper class of Sao Paulo are located around in this neighboorhood. Also the Rua Augusta, which is famous for it´s nightlife. It is the economic metropolis of South America and you can see this.

I went to the Parque Ibirapuera, which is one of the biggest parks in Sao Paulo. There I took this picture of the city. 

Lots of people here are enthusiastic for sports. The park is full of training-equipment and training people. Small mobile street-sales selling coconut water and juice.


My first impression of this city is that it is stressed, the people do not have much time, nevertheless they are helpful and friendly; like every big city, Sao Paulo is divided in rich and poor and people, but it´s impressive to see and a great city! 

The second day, I went to the old city centre. I had a typically brasilian/south-american meal: rice, beans and pig. Cheap and tasty. You get this all over South America

On my way I walked along lots of poor communieties, living with hundreds of peoples in tents under bridges or just somewhere next to the street, in the inner city, surrounded by skyscrapers.

They are really living in very poor circumstances without electricity and water, many of them drug adicted, also 13 year old children. Dreadful to see.

Right next door you have shopping streets, hotels, banks and also the theatro municipal, the main theater of Sao Paulo

I visited a building there, where I could go on top - amazing view; in every direction you just see skyscrapers to the horizon. 

In the evening I went with some people I met to the Rua Augusta, the point you have to go if you want to spend a night in Sao Paulo. I´m having a friend coming from Sao Paulo, he was not there at the moment, but he connected me with friends of him, still living there, we went out and it was a great night. 

There are nice bars, clubs and restaurants, everybody will find something he likes there. Enjoy, like the Brasilians use to say.


The next day, I did not do much, just enjoying this amazing city and the friends I made there. 

After all I have to say: Sao Paulo is a really divided city; the gap between rich and poor is huge, like the city. People do not really care about the poor, live there is rough, everybody has to look for himself, but I guess mega-cities are always like that. The new inner city is shiny, clean and rich, in contrast to the old inner city. The 50 year-old skyscrapers colored grey of traffic and the dirty air. Some people in this city have amazing opportunities, other have to care about a daily meal. Drugs and alcohol are a big problem, many homeless on the streets.

Even though Sao Paulo is amazing, you have to visit it one day. I think you should never forget how the life is for people at places you visit, always reflect what you are seeing.


And then heading to my next stop: Rio de Janeiro! 

I went to the bus terminal. 

All over South America you can travel by bus, there is no train transportation for people. 

You can fly if it´s in your budget, but I recommend taking the bus, you will save lots of money if you have enough time.


The terminal in Sao Paulo was big, I think there were 50+ differnt bus companies offering transportation. You just go there and look for the cheapest one. In most cities lots of busses are leaving the terminal during the day, you won´t have any problem finding one to your destination in the next few hours. But you can also buy them a day or a few before, then you´re completly safe.

I bought a ticket for nearly 30$, a bit expensive, but it was the last bus for this day and an expensive company. The bus was perfect, airconditioning, wifi and big seats, explaining the high price. 

So six hours to go; arriving around 12 in the night - bad decision - I should have gotten to the terminal earlier...

But you only learn from your mistakes.


See you in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil.


I hope you liked it! Subscribe, upvote, resteem and leave me your opinion!

Thank you!


Sort:  

Congratulations @travellingworld! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @travellingworld! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68