TRAVELMAN PARIS: Musée Picasso

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

France has a museum dedicated to Picasso. I’m a fan. ...I was into him from way back in his blue period, before it was cool. (Back when he was still painting in clubs)

(Guernica... Not! The real one is in Madrid. A reader had to point this out to me! ...silly tourist.)
8D0FDBFC-EA2E-4933-B683-02D0E55BFC58.jpeg

(You can google what all the images represent. I’ll get you started, the Bull is man)
8E42D54F-AFD0-48E5-AA8C-0BA631E7B96D.jpeg

I really am a fan of his. Sometimes a very confused one who stands there and says, “I don’t get it.” Sometimes I’m the skeptical one scoffing at the blurb written by the art critic explaining how “the triangle defeats the tyranny of the negative space” or some other b.s. ...Whatever, it looks like a kid made it.

(Picasso painted this at age fourteen. Yep.)B0253376-7B71-4CDF-A0A2-6CF800FEBFEC.jpeg

Other times I am in awe, raptured. looking at his work in person feels like getting a direct line to... it feels like getting a privileged moment of absolute knowing. It’s the knowing I hope to get when I die and my mind is released from the limits of my brain. I won’t have the words then either, but I won’t need them.

3C238191-6400-415A-9826-E2B93EC83DB2.jpeg

The first time I “got” Picasso I was in my early twenties and standing in front of his painting, “Old Man With Guitar.”

I stood, and stood some more. I couldn’t take my eyes off of it. I was tethered to it. There was no chair so I sat down on the floor of the museum and continued to stare.

0923F74D-28CC-4B27-836E-CDF38E4EAC0E.jpeg

I couldn’t and I still can’t explain why. The other master works didn’t do that to me, for them I looked at the work for a bit and appreciated it, but I didn’t have what can rightly be called a spiritual experience. “Old Man With Guitar” woke my spirit, like it was a weary traveler seeing pictures of home.

0E7E04FE-2C26-4DBF-B02E-21A80B1F98DE.jpeg

I didn’t have such a visceral reaction yesterday, but some of the paintings made my soul buzz like a light clicking on in an old basement.

B3493FF4-E167-4721-9142-FCFDECB72E6C.jpeg

And there were quite a few that made me shrug my shoulders and wonder if the work was revered simply because it came from his hand (there are rumors that Bob Dylan recorded some bad albums on purpose, just because).

25E1FDEE-7DAB-4FE5-BCA0-FF765A1BF7BB.jpeg

A lot of the museum focused on Picasso’s masterwork “Guernica.” Before visiting the museum, I didn’t even know it existed. The painting made a big impact as a political statement during the Spanish Civil War.

C2865838-E82D-4E05-AD8D-7568403FDFC2.jpeg

The museum also had paintings by accomplished artists that were reinterpretations of Guernica.

(I thought this was Guernica when I first saw it. ..silly tourist.)471230CB-723F-4210-B42C-F34B7E017AC4.jpeg

The top floor of the museum had works from Picasso’s private collection. Cezzanes and Matisse paintings were part of this collection.

DC96A2CC-DC99-4B76-B21D-E05B3E4F591E.jpeg

The only thing I didn’t like about the museum was that since there wasn’t a guard in each room, many of the paintings were displayed behind glass. I found this to be quite a bummer. I was surprised by how much I felt it cut me off from the work. I couldn’t look at many of them without simultaneously seeing the reflections from around the room. I had moments of anger at the general public for being such idiots.

127C6EC9-F006-47C5-ABFC-4E9792DF8C23.jpeg

When I was at the Louvre, I saw people touching statues (Do I have to mention what counrtry these tourists were from?) I almost screamed from across the room at the self obsessed fools.

4A04EFB7-3678-47C8-AA7E-33A79329D710.jpeg

The paintings at both the Picasso Museum and the Louvre were merely backdrops for these people’s photos of themselves. At the Mona Lisa I witnessed very few people stand and simply take it in. They got close enough, then started the pics of themselves (Looking away from the work), got the pic, and moved on. Aaaaagggghhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

841469C5-458F-4AE6-8FC8-D3D258D992CE.jpeg

I on the other hand am a true connoisseur of art. ...And fart jokes.

(Burp, scratch, fart)

Merci beaucoup.

!steemitworldmap 48.8598 lat 2.3619 long Musée Picasso, Paris visit, d3scr

Sort:  

I guess that's not the real Guernica, as it's not allowed to make pictures of it :D I witnessed people being treated like a criminal after trying to take photographs of it at the Reina Sofia Museum in Madrid. Anyway, nice post!

Thanks. I should’ve googled it myself. I suspected that wasn’t the real one but was too lazy to investigate. (I guess I was hoping someone like yourself would correct me if need be. ...I was just testing you! Lol.) being that it was the main focus of the museum, I was so confused. I think it’s kind of cool you can’t photograph it.

haha no worries man, the original and the copy have just the same meaning, and tbh it's not easy to enjoy a painting that has more than 100 people squeezing around it. The Guernica is great because it was Picasso's way of saying that he totally disagreed with the German bombing of the little Spanish town named Guernica.

Yeah, I know that now that I went to Wikipedia... actually they had a breakdown at the museum of what all the different parts of it are saying. Crazy how much impact it had.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-paris-musee-picasso


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Spam kills, don’t do it.

Thank you for sharing.

Thank you and please come again

Congratulations @travelman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95