Let's Go Caving in the Philippines!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Yesterday I wrote about our time in the northern Luzon town of Pagudpud and I figured I should follow that up with our stop off in Sagada on the way back to Manila. Sagada is a small town nestled in the Central Cordillera Mountains and is absolutely jam packed with great food, friendly people and amazing activities. It is mainly known for it's hanging coffins (I will write about this another day) but my favorite thing we did there was explore Sumaguing Cave just outside of town with our 15 year old guide, Kevin.

cave11.jpg

The main chamber of the cave

cave12.jpg

The view from the mouth of the cave

Let's Go Caving!

When we arrived in Sagada we quickly found out that to do any of the activities in the area you must first register with the town tourism office and they will give you a local guide to take you where ever it is you want to go. At first I was a little annoyed by this but I quickly changed my view when I saw that most of the guides were local kids working on the weekend and that all the prices set out were pretty fair. We opted to see the hanging coffins and I talked my girlfriend into going and seeing one of the caves, the price for both of these was 700PHP (500PHP for 2 persons in the cave and 200PHP for the coffins). After seeing the coffins, Kevin led us on a 45 minute walk to get to the entrance of the cave and then he went to work priming and lighting his lantern. Not long after we headed down into the darkness.

cave1.jpg

Heading into the Earth

cave2.jpg

My last view of sunlight

Into the Darkness

As we made our way down into the cave it became very dark very fast so I let my girlfriend go ahead and stay closer to the light to see her footing and we slowly made our way down the slick rock. I used my phone for light and before long we were about 75m lower than the entrance to the cave and the rock went from rough and wet to smooth and slick. At this point Kevin told us to take our shoes off and leave them here for when we come back because our feet would grip the rock better than the rubber soles of our shoes. Once we had our shoes off we continued further into the cave.

cave4.jpg

The rough and wet walk down

cave3.jpg

More of the main chamber. I apologize for some of these bad shots but shooting in a cave is so difficult, the shutter speed has to be so slow it can be hard to keep the camera still by hand

Let's Get Wet

Before we had entered the cave Kevin had asked us if we minded getting wet on our trip down and we said it wasn't a problem. I didn't quite realize what he meant though, I thought he meant a little dripping water, not wading through pools in the low spots of the cave. However, we pushed on using ropes to get up and down slick sections of rock and then wading through waist deep water to go from one small chamber to the next. I have been in a few caves in my life but none were quite as exciting as this, both my girlfriend and I had the time of our lives walking deep underground, both cold and wet, and without our shoes. Who would have thought it could be so fun?

cave6.jpg

My girlfriend making her way down the ropes

cave9.jpg

Me walking up the wall back to find my shoes

cave5.jpg

The two of us at the stone "lady", when you step back it looks like a woman with her legs open, I am not sure if it's real or Kevin was just being a 15 year old boy

cave7.jpg

My girlfriend having a blast

cave8.jpg

This was my favorite shot of the day, wading through the water by lamplight and the shadows fell just right

When I visited the Philippines I wasn't sure what to expect but everywhere I went I was constantly blown away by the both the kindness of the people and the raw beauty of the land. If you ever get a chance to visit, don't hesitate and make sure to stop off in Sagada and check out Sumaguing Cave, it should not be missed. Thanks for reading!


Check Out My Recent Posts


Northern Philippines And the Most Beautiful Beach I Have Ever Seen

Visiting Canton Tower in Guangzhou, China

Exploring Don Det and the 4000 Islands in Laos

My First Power Up And My Thoughts on Steemit!

Paragliding Adventure in Pokhara, Nepal

travelstheworld small.gif

Sort:  

That was a really amazing experience and I really enjoyed it. We should do more caving.😂😁😀

We definitely should!

That's just amazing, you've gone to places I never gone even though I was a Filipino. Thank you for appreciating my country! :)

Well there is so much of the Philippines I haven't seen and I am sure one day I will see them and so will you! I have a great respect for the Philippines and Filipino culture, it really is a magical place.

Wow, thats just awesome! You've touched my heart! As a Filipino, it be so much pleasure to hear such. Thank you for sharing a positive feedback. More travels for you!:)

Wow, I've seen so many great places in Philippines that I don't even know what to visit first when I will visit this country :)

I know! I spent a month there and there are still a bunch of places I want to see!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelstheworld
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=let-s-go-caving-in-the-philippines


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59