Moving abroad #2 : Where are you from?

in #travel6 years ago

#writingchallenge

Where are you from’? – they ask me.

‘I’m from here, mate!’ – I answer.

‘No, you are not. Your accent.. you are not Australian..

‘Oh, well.. Where does ‘from’ mean to you?’ – and then I smile. 😊

DSC_0711.JPG

I probably answer this question at least ten times a day haha.

One of the best things about traveling and live overseas is meeting people who have different perspectives and backgrounds, what can be an amazing transformation experience for you because it shapes you into a more open-minded individual.

How amazing is meet people all around the world every day hearing their different histories with their unique accents?
They come from everywhere. I love that!

IMG_2634.JPG

But when people all over the world ask me where I am from I feel it is a very tricky question.

Are you talking about my accent? Where am I live? Where am I born? Be specific, please.

You can call ‘home’ a place you born but you also can call home the place you feel connected and you live right now. Right? This is the beauty about traveling.

You know you’re a world traveler when you’re not really sure where “home” is anymore but you’re completely okay with that. You accept the idea that everywhere can be a home one day!

IMG_2627.JPG

.
.
.

In the end of the day I decided try a different way to answer it – ‘I’m from the world and the world is my home now!’ This answer always open an interesting conversation because make them confuse and also a bit thoughtful hehe.

IMG_2991.JPG

_
How about you?
When was the last time someone asked where are you from and how did you answered that? 🌎

Travel Stories.

Sort:  

Very nice blog so far. Keep it up!

Well I usually get asked that whenever I turn up to work, because I am also a foreigner in another country. I do say that I am English, but I also say I have been travelling the world for years, and living in different places.

But when I ask people where they are from, I mean where were they born and raised, what is their true roots, and from where did they grow up? This is the most interesting thing to me. And also because usually this is the most important factor in all areas of what makes that person who he/she is.

Keep posting here on #steemit and keep improving your articles!

Congratulations @travelstories! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @travelstories! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55