Moving abroad #1 : Should I go?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

#writingchallenge

What better way to expand your perspective about the world than try to see as much of it as possible?

You are not going to know about the world reading books, seat in front of the TV or look the photos of your Facebook traveler friend who posts amazing places in the world every week. Right? You want to be there.

There is no substitute for getting out there immerse yourself in the local culture, and stay with someone who is an expert on the area; learn to say “Konnichiwa” traveling in Japan or “Bula” when you go to Fiji; feed monkeys on the top of the volcano in Bali; traveling in a van or sleep in a tent in front of the amazing Mt Cook in New Zealand; putting yourself in challenge going for your first skiing in Cardrona or go for a bush walk in the North of Australia crossing where some crocodiles live (this last one made me pee in my pants 😂).

I know you have been living the comfortable certain life and you are a bit afraid to detach from your things and just go. You feel like it’s an irresponsibility leave everything behind and ‘start again’, right?

It’s not your fault.

The society teaches you to choose the convenient, the path that is already made because it’s ‘right and safe’. They teach you to follow the crowd and become a number of them. The society teaches you to surround yourself with people just like you, doing all the same thing so you get the feeling you are in the right way (wou! I have goosebumps just thinking about it)! 😮

When I decided to quit my job and career in Brazil, sell my car and my things and stop study at the university to go travel and live in the other side of the world most of my friends are shocked – “What do you mean travel for a year?”; “What are you going to do for work”?; “What are you escape from?”; “When you come back you have to start again”; “It’s not going to work”. Hmm. People were more worry about me than actually I was worry about myself.

Socrates said that you cannot walk on a way made by others for you. You have to walk, and make your road by walking. So don’t be afraid to be a stranger in the crowd (nice to meet you, I’m stranger ). Every time I heard someone telling me it’s not gonna work it was making me stronger and stronger to go and see for myself. So I did. (and It’s being the most amazing three years of my life 🙌)!

This post is for all that wish travel and is afraid with.

Remember: there is no right and wrong about traveling. But I can guarantee: it will be a life changing.

❤️

Travel Stories.

Sort:  

Awesome! Excited to hear more. I took my kids and moved to Belize. Once we have home base set up, we will start to travel again. We've been here almost 3 years, and I'll never go back to the US.

Yess! I've been calling Australia home since 2013 and the experience to move abroad is amazing, isn't?! Happy to hear that you moved with your kids: this is one of the first excuses that people use to don't travel. Keep travelling with them!!

Travel is really, really good for kids.

I'm the same! I left my country 4 years ago and I've been travelling and moving abroad. It's so amazing how we start to see the world differently, isn't? Keep posting please!

Yes!! Moving abroad is one of the best things I have done so far! Thanks @gustavospecht!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54