These Pictures From My Western Australia Road Trip Are Absolutely Epic!

in #travel6 years ago

Hello Steemit! Today's post is from the vast state of Western Australia, as I show you some of the best pictures I took on my road trip! And remember guys, I'm trying to connect with like minded travellers here on Steemit so please get in touch or comment if you too love travel and love Steemit!

A Western Australia Road Trip!

Australia is absolutely MASSIVE!

Western Australia is the largest state in this massive country. And it is HUGE!

So I decided that the best way to travel this vast, and empty land was by car. Of course. The slow way... I had thousands of kilometres of roads to drive though, and most of it along empty, long, straight highways of pretty much nothingness...

It's like nowhere I've been before, and until you try to drive Western Australia you will never understand how vast it really is. I took a few pictures though to try and show you what I saw!

I drove almost 7000 kilometres, starting in the south of the state where I had been working on a farm. From the coastal town of Albany I headed East, across the long highway in search of beautiful beaches!

The rugged coast of Albany

The landscapes were epic! I drove almost 500 kilometres from Albany to Esperance, a beautiful seaside town famous for the rugged Cape Le Grande National Park, where the sunsets were even more epic than the landscapes.

Lucky Bay, Esperance

Esperance was as far east as I was travelling. From here I drove north, taking the long way to the capital Perth via the mining town of Kalgoorlie, where I found one of the largest open cut gold mines in the world. It was a sight to behold.

The Kalgoorlie Gold Mine

From Kalgoorlie I drove west, towards Perth. Along the way I took a small Outback detour. Just a small 400 kilometre detour. And all to see a rock. It was a giant rock shaped like a wave though. Well worth the extra driving...

A rock shaped like a wave, Wave Rock!

When I finally made it to Perth I jumped on a boat, taking a break from the hours and hours of driving. This boat took me to the small island of Rottnest, home of the Quokka, the world's happiest animal!

The delightfully cute Quokka

After spending far too long photographing these little critters, I drove north from Perth, and towards the ominously named Shark Bay, where it was very possible the wild life wouldn't be quite so friendly.

But rather than encountering sharks, I found myself in the water with the resident dolphins of Monkey Mia, a research centre and holiday park on the beach.

From Shark Bay I was driving further and further north, and things became further and further apart. The nearest town was hundreds of kilometres away. And from here I decided to take another short detour. Just a 600 kilometre round trip along rocky, unsurfaced roads. And again to see a rock. This time, I was climbing Mount Augustus. The largest rock in Australia! Bigger even than Uluru!

Mount Augustus!

The roads were getting longer and emptier. The north of Western Australia is sparsely populated. There's more kangaroos than people.

IMG_2990-4.jpg

The next stop was another casual 600 kilometres, in the nearby- haha!- National Park of Karijini, where amazing natural swimming pools are found in the craggy and beautiful gorges!

Joffre Falls, at Karijini National Park

It was such a beautiful place that I found myself a job at Karijini, and worked there for 3 months. This road trip really was turning into a long one...

After my elongated stay in the national park it was time to hit the road again. Another 600 kilometre trip to Marble Bar, which is Australia's HOTTEST town. A long drive, to a hot place... That's Western Australia for you!

Marble Bar! It's HOT HOT HOT!

The road trip was almost over, as I drove as far north as the northern city of Broome, a remote place on tropical, white sand beaches. There's beaches, beers and the odd crocodile up this way, and it truly was a spectacular place!

If you love this then take a visit to my website, where you can find out even more about my epic adventure's around Australia, and around the world!

Fellow Steemit travellers! Comment below to get in touch! I can't wait to meet more like minded travellers in the community!

Sort:  

So cute photo :) Awesome place Australia :)

Congratulations @traveltramp, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3609 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $627.30. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Awesome photos my bro! West oz is in my eyes the epitome of raw natural beauty. If you head back down make a stop in gnarloo or the bluff. Well worth it purely for the stars at night - i can promise you would not regret it! :)

Look forward to seeing some more from your ventures!

I missed out! I didn't have a 4x4 at the time so couldn't get out there unfortunately.

That little Quokka is so awesome. Australia is the most beautiful country in the world. Love the wildlife and the scenery. Great post :)

The quokkas are some of the cutest animals imaginable! I might make a post just full of quokka pictures!

Doooooooooooooo it! I will upvote that post so hard.

Haha I did it man!

Awesome shots mate, I always wanted to get out to Wave Rock and never did!

As far as rocks go, it's a pretty awesome rock.

Love that pic of Joffre Rock. The light is great and great contrast. I have never been to WA but been to most states. Me and my Canon are going to have to wander across that Nullabor at some stage. Thanks for sharing

Thanks! I really wanted to get across the Nullarbor as well, there's nothing but nothing. Although you can also play the world's longest golf course across it too.

HAHAHA yeah shes pretty arrid out there from all reports. Hope you go the big driver fro that hole!

Dude! These photos are awesome! The joey at the end is adorable!

I've moved from Melbourne to the US... and no one here knows that Australia is about as big geographically as the US... but with a 1/12th of the population.

Did you see any camels in the desert? They aren't native, they were introduced 150 years ago... but have no predators and so they just keep breeding and breeding.

Thanks! It's crazy how far away everything is in Australia! I didn't see any wild camels, but yeah I heard the stories, and I saw the huge fence they built across the entire state to keep out the rabbits which were breeding and breeding too!

Oh yeah, rabbits were a huge problem. They actually got to plague proportions in the 1950s and 1960s. My dad has one photo where there is seriously like 2000 rabbits drinking at their dam. Craziness.

What's next on the travel agenda?

That's nuts haha. I'm going to South East Asia for a month and then I'm travelling to Melbourne actually! I will be road tripping around, mainly Tasmania because it looks AWESOME.

Tasmania is awesome! It feels a little bit like the island that time forgot... but it is so pretty and so foresty. Everyone is really nice and it's generally a really fun place to visit (but tough to live there I've heard).

That's a pretty amazing travel-schedule, I can't wait to see the next batch of photos!

Don’t worry I’ll be posting plenty more!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57455.91
ETH 2919.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58