My Maine Squeeze-New England Living

in #travel7 years ago

I have been so lucky to live in so many beautiful places in my life, but I feel like it’s most necessary to be braggy about my current residence. I’m originally from Chicago so of course I lived there for 18 years, then Minnesota for 5 years, Norway for the better part of a year (wish I still lived there), Arizona for 2 and I’m just about to hit the 1 year mark here in good ole Maine. Of all the places I listed, none of them were near the east coast region and I really didn’t know too much about this area which is probably why I decided it would be a good place to start my adult life. What do you think?

I remember being a month away from graduating with my Master’s degree thinking, “Shit, what the hell do I do next?”- a thought I’m sure many of you have had before. So, I decided it wouldn’t be fair to who I am as a person to go back to what I know in Chicago or Minnesota and that the only logical thing to do was challenge myself with something that would be completely new for me. I like to think of myself as pretty adaptable and good with all things change, so I chose to apply to higher education positions solely on the east coast (mostly New York, Virginia and Maine). When I flew into Maine for my on-campus interview, I felt like I was flying into another country. I still remember looking out of the tiny airplane window thinking I had gotten on the wrong plane because of the mass amounts of green and water I saw. Almost instantly I fell in love with Maine and knew this was a place I needed to experience first hand.

So here I am living that New England life full of coastal visits, so much lobster everywhere (even the McDonald’s have lobster rolls), Stephen King and endless trails for all the Tom walking I can take (but mostly what his old man dog body can take). Also, I’ve never heard of lobster rolls until I moved to NE. Has this been a thing my whole 26 years of life and I’m just learning about them now-it’s a travesty! They are so amazingly delicious. If you head out this way and want to try one, I like the ones that are tossed in butter. The other option is Mayo which is good, but a bit too thick for my liking. But, to each their own, as long as you have lobster in some form, in your mouth-you’re doing it right! You're doing it wrong if you get it from McDonald's though, very wrong!

Now back to the beauty of Maine-

This is one of my favorite picture of Dog Tom and I by Bar Harbor, Maine in late October. Bar Harbor is one of the MOST incredible towns I’ve been to and I’ve traveled a good chunk of places. They have phenomenal restaurants (Side Street Cafe in Bar Harbor for that lobster roll phenomenon I was telling you about, it'll change your life), trails and the most beautiful sunrise/sunset’s you could ask for.


This picture was taken when Fall foliage was heading towards the end. What is fall foliage you ask? Let me tell you-I have never in my life seen a fall like a New England fall. If you’re thinking about visiting NE/Maine especially-you MUST come during fall foliage. I have never seen so many intricate colors that I never knew could exist in nature. It is insanely beautiful and vibrant.

Some people cry from looking at babies, I cry from looking at fall foliage.

I also cry because my pupper is the cutest thing in my life and this is exactly how he feels about my new love affair with Steemit!

Cheers to you, Steemians!

Sort:  

Breathtaking views...Check
Beautiful Lady....Check
Adorable Dog.... Double Check.

This is a $1,000 dollar post easily :)

Haha-thanks for checking it out! Appreciate the comment!

England is one of the best places to visit! Quite frankly, I think that the English people are very interesting folks!

I agree, I love England! This post is referring to New England though, which is a region in the Northeastern part of the USA comprising Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut.
I would love to be in the U.K. right now though! Thanks for reading my blog!

Your life seems so interesting! You should start posting about your life story. :)

Haha-thanks! You will definitely get sick of how much I'm going to write about my life!

Good pics!

nice views and I love your dog.. such a cutie pie!

WoW ~!! impressive photo~
thank you for sharing

Thanks-but I give credit to Maine. It's hard to take a bad picture of such a beautiful place!

as i add new Zealand to mi list of places i want to visit or maybe even move to :)

New Zealand would be an awesome place to live, too! These pictures are from Maine, USA which is clumped with some other states and referred to as New England. I wish I could post pics about NZ, but I haven't made it there yet! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69611.55
ETH 3706.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.30