Favorite Place & Biggest Desire - What Are Yours? (Minnow Support Saturday Winner Post)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

This is CROATIA_Medvednica.jpg
Source

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

"Well, I've been posting about my home - Croatia - here on Steemit for a while now, and just realized I never told you about my absolute favorite place! What better time to do it than right now? Here it goes..."

Today's article is a post by @Vesnapv because she won the Tuesday spot on my blog by winning the Minnow Support Saturday Contest! Vesnapv will receive 50% of the payouts.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Medvednica Mountain

I live in Croatia's capital city, Zagreb.

North of the city there is a mountain called Medvednica. It's been protecting the locals from cold northern winds since they founded first villages at the foot of the mountain, about a thousand years ago.

Unfortunately, the wind wasn't the only threat from the north. Invasion of Tatars left these villages raided and devastated, so in 1254 a medieval castle was built on Medvednica mountain.

medvednica3-54215b0a77a6f.jpg
Source

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Medvedgrad Castle

Castle Medvedgrad has such a perfect location, that you can see it from anywhere in the downtown Zagreb. Of course, when you climb up there, the view of the city is spectacular!

Because of it's strategic position and quality built, the castle was never attacked.
It was, however, constantly the center of proprietary and political turmoil. So much so, that it changed 107 owners. But none of them more famous or more notorious than the Countess Barbara of Celje, better known as The Black Queen We still talk about her today. There's even a popular craft beer named after her!

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Veternica Cave

Another tourist attraction of Medvednica Mountain is Veternica Cave.

It used to be a shelter to many animals extinct long ago that left their traces and remains, such as cave lion, leopard, cave hyena, giant deer, and of course - the cave bear.

Have you noticed the same letters in the names of Medvednica Mountain, and Medvedgrad Castle? (woot-woot! extra super brownie points for those of you who noticed!)

"Medvjed" is a Croatian word for a bear. There used to be A LOT of bears on Medvednica, hence the name.

pp-medvednica-spilja-veternica-4.jpg
Source

Today, Veternica Cave is home to bats.

Out of 45 bat species that live in Europe, 18 of them live in Veternica Cave!
All bat species in Croatia are protected by law; therefore, it is forbidden to disturb them. That's why you can't visit Veternica between October and April, so you won't bother them while they're sleeping.

You can, however, adopt a bat. For about $25 you can name a bat, and get all kinds of goodies as a proud new bat-owner. Along with knowing you're helping protecting them.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

I Saved the Best for Last

The highest peak of the Medvednica Mountain - Sljeme - is just over a thousand meters high (over 3K feet). It's about 2-hour long hike to get there.

800px-Forest_5.JPG
Source

Back when I was a student, hiking to Sljeme was my favorite way to spend a weekend outdoors. And, I wasn't the only one! Many, many locals hike up the Medvednica Mountain all year round.

The entire mountain is covered by incredibly lush forest. And since Croatia has four seasons, the forest changes all the time.

At springtime, there are new creeks surfacing everywhere. In the summer the forest is cool and fresh, a complete opposite to the heated city.

At fall the colors of the leaves change daily until they all fall off the branches and cover the entire forest floor with a bronze carpet. Then winter brings white snow, chilled air and red-cheeked people sledding, boarding and skiing at the top.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Biggest Desire of All

It's been years since I last saw that forest. Rheumatoid Arthritis is making it excruciatingly hard for me to even cross the street without a cane. Climbing a mountain is impossible.

But... I believe it won't last forever. I've been told it will only progress with time, until I end up in a wheelchair. But - my pain is no longer present 24/7, only when I walk.

I've been told 5 of my joints need to be surgically replaced with artificial ones. But - my joints improved in mobility since then, and I have no intention of separating for them.

I've been told that my condition is incurable. Irreversible. Forever. But - I KNOW I will be hiking again.

No rational reason why. I just know. This is my biggest desire. And one day, on my way up to Medvednica Mountain peek, I'll look back and wonder: "Was it all just a bad dream?

"Yeah. All gone now!"

signature.png
V9 Separator (No Logo).png

My ultimate goal as a Steemit Witness is to improve the quality of the content here on Steemit and to maintain the Steem blockchain.

If you value what I do I would be happy if you would vote for me at the bottom of the Witness voting page. Simply scroll down, enter "valorforfreedom" click on vote and that's it. If I am in the top 50 you can also just vote for me there.

You can also vote for me by clicking on the picture below with my account name in it. Afterwards you simply have to log in with Steemconnect and I will receive your vote.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

stats.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Sort:  

Fabulous contest pick, @ValorForFreedom and LOVE your post, @vesnapv!

Thank you for sharing the history of Medvednica mountain, Castle Medvedgrad, Veternica Cave and the historical population switch from bears to bats. ;)

Your Sljeme peak reminds me of our Jamaican Blue Mountain peak, except that we don't have your four lovely seasons here. ;)

Back when I was a student, hiking to Sljeme was my favorite way to spend a weekend outdoors.

Yes, I used to hike a lot too. I can understand how you must miss that. I totally respect, support and will be cheering you on as you make your deepest and biggest desire come true.

I was also told I'd need to be on medication every day for the rest of my life last March/April. I've been off it since near the end of last year completely and only now take one herbal supplement between every few days to a couple weeks. I thank God/dess for my mother who wouldn't stop (and still does) researching until we found something that worked.

I know you're probably doing it already but never give up researching and scouring the internet and talking to people about your desire all the time. You will attract the answers that are right for you and your rheumatoid arthritis and the accomplishment of your goal to climb Sljeme peak again.

I KNOW I will be hiking again.

I AM Knowing that you will too, Vesna. And you will look back and say...

"Yeah. All gone now!"

God/dess and Angel Blessings...

What a wonderful feedback, @angelacs… thank you so much!

Just took a peek at a video of Blue Mountain Peak at Sunrise. Incredible! It's above the clouds and the horizon is orange-ish with a little bit of a Sun showing up. Gorgeous indeed.

There is something incredibly powerful and humbling at the same time, in climbing a mountain and looking at a horizon, isn't it? You work your way up, and then you're rewarded with a stunning view. And a different perspective, too. I love it 😍

Yeeey for going off meds!!! And for your unstoppable mom!

Thank you for the lovely wishes.
Blessings you too 🙏💗💖✨

Medvednica mountain looks like a great place to explore and enjoy natures beauty. I hope you get the chance to hike up the mountain again.

I love your attitude regarding your R.A. I also have it. I've decided that somethings are worth the pain. Soaking in my hot tub really helps my joints. I know eventually, I will need joint replacement surgery. But I intend to put it off for as long as possible.

In the US the there is a company that custom makes the replacement joints based on your x-rays and MRI's. Technology keeps on improving, so there is hope.

Oh, I'm so sorry, didn't know you too are living with RA, @emergehealthier.
And yes, I agree with you - some things are absolutely worth the pain!

As for the joints repalcement, I refused it right away; it's just not an option in my world. But I do know many people recovere afterwards and of course the quality of their lives is now greater. After all, surgeries are the best of modern medicine. Especially if they can adjust the replacement to you, as you said.

For me personally, EFT made the biggest difference. I'm not consistent at practicing it, but it helped me regain joint movement and flexibility. It's very easy to learn, give it a try.

Thanks for reading and for good wishes!!! I wish the best for you too!

I will look into it. I go to the gym and work out on the machines that strengthen the muscle around my joints. I plan on taking the water aerobics class that they have in a heated salt water pool.

Medvednica Mountain sounds a magical place.....I'm so sorry that you cannot enjoy the sights and sounds of your favourite place. With your determination I'm sure that one day you will climb The Mountain again

From one nature lover to another - thank you @macchum for your lovely wishes and for taking the time to read and comment!
I appreciate it.

I dig Vesnap her honesty in this post and I hope she can hike again soon. 👍

Thanks for the lovely wish, @valorforfreedom! I hope I'll be hiking again, too.

Thought you might like me being honest and writing about nature... you're the only one I've seen post straitforward, unedited dTube videos recorded in the forest 🙃 Pretty cool!

I gave you an up-vote. It would be great if you could return a favor.
Please follow me if you like and we can share posts and up-votes and help build our profiles.

Thank you!!!

Thanks for the upvote and for leaving a comment, @srijana-gurung.
I only follow and upvote content I like, but I will check out your profile.
Have a lovely day!

Hello @valorforfreedom , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is ✅ "smartsteem"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@byresteem has 25.500 Followers + 7000 Sp + Upvote with min +55 accounts.

I am a bot, I can not answer the comment. I hope I could help. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59