Asakusa, diving in the heart of Tokyo's historic district, by @japon (translation from French)

in #travel6 years ago

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by @japon: Asakusa, plongée au coeur du quartier historique de Tokyo

Remember that the person that speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but @japon, a French guy.


If there is a place that reflects the historical side of Tokyo, it's Asakusa. A few subway stations from Ueno Park, I arrive at the Nakamise Dori. A large shopping street with many shops on either side, full of tourists.

Some women are dressed in traditional kimono, some tourists photograph them thinking that they are geisha. No, a woman dressed in a kimono is not necessarily a geisha. It is probably a young Chinese who has rented a traditional costume to plunge into the atmosphere of traditional Japan. Young Chinese couples are very fond of these outfits. It costs about 3000 yen a day (about 25€ or US$30), with kimono, accessories and hairstyle.






After a few days in Japan, I quickly made the difference between a real kimono worn by a Japanese, and those rented for a day. These are too often overly blooming and colorful (while we were in October). The Japanese women instead wore kimonos in solid colors and much more discreet.

I enter the Nakamise Dori and its many merchants of souvenirs, not always in very good taste, nor very religious. I notice that businesses are also located in perpendicular streets. In addition to being quieter, they are also fewer tourist traps. A few steps away there is also a great shopping arcade as we sometimes see in the center of major Japanese cities. It is a street literally covered with a roof. The advantage is that it is dry when it rains, it protects from the cold and gives a warmer atmosphere.



The focal point of Asakusa is the Senso-Ji Temple, a Buddhist temple dedicated to Kannon, the goddess of compassion. The main entrance is via a huge door that overlooks the Nakamise Dori: Kaminarimon (or door of thunder). It is easily recognizable by her large hanging red lantern.

Everyone is trying to make a selfie, I'm trying to make my way in. In the big court, a big censer around which people gather to purify themselves by the smoke. With their hand they guide the smoke of incense towards their head or the part of the body that hurts them.









This Buddhist complex is really big, with several buildings of a more modest appearance but which are nonetheless uninteresting. The central esplanade is still crowded with people, including many foreign tourists. Fortunately I will visit much more Zen places the following days. I deviate a little to appreciate the place as a whole and remains planted in front of the big pagoda which is impressive!



At one point I hear music and I notice a crowd around a scene. Interesting: a concert of traditional music inside a temple!



Finally I can not say that I really loved this place. Too crowded, too noisy, too touristy. I came to Japan for more serenity and discover the country from the inside. But the architecture of the place is particularly beautiful, so I decided to give it another try.

I came back a few days later, but in the evening. It was dark, it was raining, the place was empty. Yet it was beautiful. The lighting of the different buildings takes on a whole new dimension.



-- @japon


Travel diary in Japan, by @japon
Tokyo, overcrowded city? Really? by @japon
Are the Japanese too disciplined? by @japon
Going to Japan without speaking Japanese? by @japon
Ueno, more than just a big park in Tokyo, by @japon

Sort:  

Japan is one place that I have, since childhood, wanted to visit. Maybe with my future girlfriend

You should go! Absolutely amazing! Expensive, but worth every penny!

Great post!

I've just returned from holidays in Tokyo. If you want to see some nice photos, please give a look at my blog.

I was also in Hong Kong and Macau. My favourite city was Tokyo, though.

i'm really in love with this wonderful country, love the way the beauild their houses, the way the dress, the nature, everything looks gorgoeus in this amazing country thansks for sharing.

Hey, Dear! You seem very creative! :) Great to have you here. Looking forward to your adventures!

I’m into motivation, psychology and healthy lifestyle in case you would like to visit my channel, VALUE guaranteed.

@vcelier, such a beauty to behold.

The People's culture is the People's essence.

Thanks for sharing

I've been to this place. :) resteemed.
I miss Asakusa. Such a vibrant culture-rich place.
I do hope to visit Japan again! Keep steeming your Japan trips @vcelier.
Followed you. thank you.

Saya suka postingnya

wow very amazing post and culture also...
cool photography..... upvote this post ✌

The best thing about Japan is japanese culture and japanese clothing like kimono. Anyways Kimono have T-shaped, straight-lined robes worn so that the hem falls to the ankle, with attached collars and long, wide sleeves. Kimono are wrapped around the body, always with the left side over the right. Anyways photography is awesome.

Japan seems really interesting, unfortunately I do not have the opportunity to visit it yet. Hopefully I would be able to someday. Also those pagodas looks really massive not to mention really beautiful. It would be nice to see them up close. Thanks for the interesting travel blog @vcelier. I know that this is from @japon's article but since I am new and haven't seen the original post and I cannot read French, I think you deserve credit for translating it for us non French speakers.

You should visiti it one day! It's such a beautiful country. I had the chance to visit it twice and i loved it!

Full of culture, people, colours and tradition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75