Takeshita dori : this little street dedicated to fashion (and good crepes), by @japon (translated from French)

in #travel6 years ago

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by @japon: Takeshita dori : cette petite rue dédiée à la mode (et aux bonnes crêpes)

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person that speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but @japon, a French guy.


In the district of Harajuku, not far from Shibuya, is a small pedestrian street that reveals another face of Japanese culture. The Takeshita dori, almost 400 meters long, is teeming with small and often eccentric clothing shops.

When I wandered the streets of Tokyo, especially at peak hours, I was fascinated by the conformity of clothing. Men in dark suits and white shirts, women in gray suits. There seems to be little room for fantasy or individuality. At least it's a very Western vision. When I first became interested in Japanese society and how it worked, I discovered a whole new face. This is the subject of a vast debate, to which I will return shortly.



But back to this little street famous for its eccentricity and quirky looks of young Japanese that we can cross. Because it is a completely different face of fashion that we see. Fantasy, goth or lolita looks, cosplay and Kawaii. Everyone goes for their own originality, the goal is to show!

Fashion designers do not fail to come and spend a few hours observing, analyzing, dissecting these sometimes improbable looks. And all this will inspire some new trends for the next seasons.

If the Japanese youth looking for freedom goes to this street, it is because there are many shops to perfect these looks. This is where they are able to find unique pieces, or the essential accessories. From very rock style to very colorful outfits, the choice is wide.






If tourists know the Takeshita dori for fashion, they discover it for its crepes. You can not miss the two kiosks that face each other and sport the plastic replicas of the recipes. The peculiarity of Japanese crepes is that they are rolled cone-shaped and garnished with ice cream, fruit, biscuits, whipped cream.









Even in the rain, there is always a lot of people, the line seems interminable. Especially that every crepe is made on demand. I wait patiently while thinking about the one I was going to choose. I am very gourmand, if I could have tasted them all, I would have done it.

My turn finally arrives, and I give the number of the crepe I had chosen. It's huge, it's well stocked, I deviate a little from the crowd to chew!



I find a small shrine next door. There is hardly anyone. The contrast is amazing with the shopping street which is only a few meters away. I calmly enjoy my crepe, thinking that this is the last day in Tokyo. The next morning I leave for Kyoto. New adventures await me, I'm excited because it's really the traditional side of Japan that attracts me the most.

However, I did not imagine that Kyoto was going to show me a face very different from what I expected and hoped for.

-- @japon


Travel diary in Japan, by @japon
Tokyo, overcrowded city? Really? by @japon
Are the Japanese too disciplined? by @japon
Going to Japan without speaking Japanese? by @japon
Ueno, more than just a big park in Tokyo, by @japon
Asakusa, diving in the heart of Tokyo's historic district, by @japon
Ameyoko, Ueno's colorful market, by @japon
Tsukiji, the largest fish market in the world, by @japon
Climb the steps of Atago Jinja Shrine in Tokyo, by @japon
Hama Rikyu, an exceptional park in the heart of Tokyo, by @japon
Jimbocho, old books and tempura, by @japon
Shinjuku Gyoen Park and the best burger in the world!, by @japon
One night in Shibuya, by @japon

Sort:  

Last year I was in Tokyo and visited the very same street. Totally crazy!
I was at that quiet place too - the contrast could not be bigger :)

Oh my. This is so lovely to look at.
I love how I can just see other places and feel like I'm right there.
Lovely.

Thanks for sharing the translated post. It reads well and I'm glad you can share the French community with us. Looking at the pictures I don't see much differences outwardly in what I see in Seoul I live.

Thank you so much for this post. In may I will be visiting Japan, thanks to you now I will follow @japon and find more! cheer @vcelier

Now I see he writes only in French, it would be awesome to translate as much as you can, whenever you have some spare time! merci beaucoup @vecelier

Hey guys I am RB kean today I create an account on Steemit that's name is @steemit-review . I am new here looking like a beginner of Steemit platform. I just create a post on my steemit blog. Here the link https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@steemit-review/sr-1-can-you-earn-money-from-steemit-com

You may leave a comment about how was my first post. You may also do something for me by Upvote

Cheers,

RB kean

i am feeling a little bit jealous
i am big fan of japan i want to visit this place i,ve heard that tokiyo is the most beautiful capital right now in this world but second one is islamabad in pakistan you should also visit pakistan i am from pakistan
if you came here please surly tell me i,ll receive you from lahore or islamabad,s airport
anyways thank you very much for sharing your great experience with us
i am new steemian i hope you will support me
thank you very muxh

Thank you for this post..I follow you ..

@vcelier the best your post

The translated version is great, well coordinated. The crepes got me really salivating. Thanks @vcelier for sharing this great post

@cecegrace thank you friend..
Follow and upvote my oke

This is so lovely thank you for sharing your thoughts approximately japan

Thanks for sharing

nice nice follow you and vote thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66