Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'The Mysterious Yard' (Part #273)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

'The Mysterious Yard'

crta.png

Inner yards of old buildings are always interesting to take a look at. Sometimes they are just beautiful and sometimes there is a secret or two to be uncovered there. If the place is private, the door is usually locked. It is safe to assume this one is open to the public.

I find wine grape climbing its way to the upper floor. It is winter and the plant is sleeping but I am able to imagine it full of grapes at the end of summer. Even so, I didn't expect to find one here. Check out where it grows from.

Further down, in the back of the yard, I find an old stone tablet. It is really big and thick. I recognize it. This is a stone carving found on island Krk. Bašćanska ploča is the name of the original artefact from the end of 11th century or beginning of the 12th. Its importance lies in the fact that this is the oldest written word 'Croat'. It is mentioned in the sentence: "... the land which Zvonimir, the Croatian king, gave..." The Croatian King of the era, Zvonimir gave the land to the Church and it was written down in stone.

This was written in the old Croatian alphabet called Glagolitic. It has nothing to do with Russian Cyrillic nor Latin alphabet. Sadly, Croatians do not use it for centuries nor we learn it in schools, even though it's not hard at all. However, it is still being used for tattoo inscriptions that might intimidate the uninitiated. :D

The clock on the wall. Human restraints. Running on other people's schedules. Actual belief in the existence of time. The more one acknowledges the fourth dimension, the more one gets influenced by its dark boons. But, it looks really nice up there, doesn't it?

The inner yards hide weird things, I tell ya! :)

Enjoy your day!



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes, daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witness in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is good people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I cycling to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

I like the picture of the clock. It's pretty neat! That kind of clock is uncommon in our country, making it picture-worthy. The good thing about this kind of subject is it stands out no matter where you put it in the frame. Thanks for sharing.

Nice piece of art and an excellent depiction of civilization of that time...

Beautiful. I like it.

It's always interesting to see how people in Europe fortify themselves. While here in America houses are so easily accessible to thieves :D

I guess the right body should work on that... America is way bigger than that

WARNING! The comment below by @blockchainfiend leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Wow ,,, home is very nice, too beautiful, watch,images (6).jpeg

The pictures in the post are very beautiful and the wall clock is so beautiful,

Nice pictures. Those pictures is amazing and interested to look on.

This is really amazing @velimir. I wish to see more of this. Thanks for sharing

The Mysterious Yard' looks very attractive and clean.you always to trip doing beautifull place.... find the design of roof coverings to be so different around the world. Sometimes I think shingles here are designed to be replaced. A never ending industry, where in other places the roof looks like it could last forever.i like your story of travel.enjoy your good day to travel.thanks to sharing for your good post..@velimir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97