Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'The Tower' (Part #271)

in #travel6 years ago

'The Tower'

crta.png

An awesome fact about the motorcycle in the city is that nobody complains wherever you park it. I left mine almost in front of a church, with a police patrol watching me do it. Not a word. Love that about motorcycles and the city. A car would be a completely another story. Walking at Upper town has its merits. It's not crowded at all today.

The first stop is the spy binoculars. Using these, one can pretty much check every window pointing north. They call it a tourist attraction but you can easily figure out the real reason. Pay per view, of course. Hope you understand that I'm joking :D

In this tower, there is a canon. It is being fired exactly at 12 o'clock each day. It has been done so for over 140 of years. There is a legend about it, something to do with Ottoman invasion and how it was repelled by some dude hitting the commanders lunch from several miles away from this tower. Sounds more like a children story. I think the canon is fired just to wake late-sleepers and secure the job for the crew firing it. I mean who cares if it's noon or not? :D

I like the facade of the tower. It is completely uneven. Perfection totally annihilated. Love it. Wish architects and builders had more courage to avoid super straight perfect looking everything, when constructing modern buildings, too.

A lonely stand with souvenirs and a guy hiding behind it. There is music coming from somewhere. Sounds like Mozart.

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes, daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witness in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is good people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I cycling to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

thanks for the post!

I love the uneven surface, and how you showed it. We have a lot of Stucco around here, and that unevenness is part of the charm.

When I was a kid the place I grew up in tested the fire siren every day at noon. Tested the siren and let the barber know when to go to lunch. I don't know if I'd prefer the siren or the cannon.

I love street carts for the most part, particularly those with food. A real weakness for me.

Thanks for another wonderful adventure.

beautiful pictures and cause all little-mentioned details I always feel that I am there with you while reading your blogs. thank you so much for all of your hard work.

you stop is spy binoculars.this window pointing of north looks very pretty.this tower to see very high and it is a mordern buildings. hopefully you enjoy your good moment in this buildings.this small shop very good of building sides.you travel doing to drive motorbike.its very interesting.goid job sir
thanks to sharing for your good post..@velimir

Wow, nice and beautiful. You gat me smiling about motorcycle packing issue, yea, you re very right, restrictions on packing bikes re not as tedious compare to cars. I love your photographs and please where is that tower located? Thanks much

if in my country, especially in jakarta (Indonesia) would have been fined for parking carelessly.
is it true that the age of the binoculars is 140 years. means it has become a unique and guarded goods.
by the way, what is the name of this town?
thanks brother @valimir

thanks so much @jamalgayoni. what you doing?

Beautiful photography.Different angle of view. Always something new.

In Halifax, there is a fortress that overlooks the harbour. It has been there since the inception of the city. Every single day they fire a canon at 12 noon. It's a tradition that has continued from back when the fort was active. I'm not sure why they do it, maybe I should look it up. I actually miss that Boom each day. You can hear it from quite far away.

traveling on motor cycle is adventurous and gives immense happiness . the same sort of happiness we won't get while traveling in cars . long drives are incomplete without motor vehicles. they make the long rides perfect :)

Wow...really excellent photography & nice post i like travel..The town is very awesome bro enjoy your life with a great travel keep sharing hope you enjoyed this You have a good day to day…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97