Motorcycle travel series by @velimir 'Zagorje 44' (Part #154)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

And, now ladies and gentleman, the eighties legend! Some people say that Yugo 45 was the worst car ever imported in The States. It is really a lie. I can swear that from my first-hand experience. It was the first car I ever drove. I met none of all those reported problems. Even though the original model was 45kwh, my vanilla coloured Yugo had a solid 55kw engine and never failed me once in years. I think that there were really awesome series of this car coming out of that factory somewhere in Serbia but, one must admit, most of them were dreadful. This is what happens when you don't pay your workers proper wages. I think they've sent the bad ones straight to The States just like now we get crappy Nutella, while Germans eat the nice tasting one. EU, the land of your dreams! :D

So, the fact that I got to drive a really good one makes me a lucky guy. I remember it had awesome acceleration. My buddies and I almost used it as a race car. I can still remember some really dangerous situations... uf... cold sweat just came over me.

I just cannot resist asking the grandpa if I can take some pictures. He doesn't mind at all. He bought it from another old guy who kept it in a garage most of the time. That's why the car seems quite preserved.

The interior brings up memories. It is quite unclean. One doesn't keep the legend like that. I didn't say that to him. Just my thought.

Hehehe.. you guys remember this old radio cassette players?

As far as I remember, the top speed was 130. If you were brave. But the acceleration, as I already mentioned, was quite remarkable. It had a too powerful engine for the low weight it was packing...

A long-gone car from a long-gone country. Quite a cool logo for the eighties...

And the grandpa is going, too, along with my little trip down the memory lane. I don't know why is the wine bottle on that table by the road or who put it there. It doesn't belong to the guy. Is it a left over from last night's party? :D

Enjoy your day! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I strongly encourage all efforts leading to weeding out all of the dishonest authors.





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!


• Vote @thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.




I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

Never seen a Yugo before, my first car was something similar the golf 1.

hehehe they never exported them that far south!!! :D

I like this type of series.

This comment has received a 4.17 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @babarrajo. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Yugo I haven't seen one of those vehicles in such a long time looks like a classic, I see it still has the cassette player. I also find interesting how you take your pictures and create in article. I like the bottle of wine and beside it a small cup with a mouthful of wine I'm certain it is very tasting . appreciate you taking the time as always great job

Once in Serbia the owner of a bed and breakfast drove us (me and my friend) to the trainstation with a car like this! Imagine 2 suitcases on the roof, 2 big guys and me in the car. It actually was suprisingly comfortable. Fun experience

And what about the bottle on the table????did you miss that deliberately.???

haha no I didn't read the last paragraph! :) it was so weird to me as well, that I took a separate pic hahaha.. here :D

It's just showing how much @velimir is enjoying himself.😎

lol...this is not my bottle. I found it there and left it as I found it. Riding a motorcycle you don't want to drink wine rofl :D

Oh i didn’t know about This brand car it sound Like yu-gi-oh ! 😂😂😂😂 lol btw u made ne feel Like i was Back in The past ! Nice sharing !

A lovely story, I loved it.....😀

hahaha beautiful story of the car and grandpa .. so you took the bottle and enjoyed it alone or with someone else ...?? have a great day buddy

nope it was just sitting there on that table by the road. read the last paragraph :D

Old schools😁, that's nice sir.
I don't know about it but you have good pictures of it. @velimir
Thanks for sharing this with us sir.

@seyiodus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82