Motorcycle travel series by @velimir 'Zagorje 48' (Part #158)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The day is grey but with a promise of the sun, later on. I am geared up for cold weather but it's not cold as expected. Might happen later on after the dusk. Hot south wind is tenderly blowing. I'm on a new road across the hill that was built only a few years back. It sure looks tempting and quite dangerous at the same time. The curves and changing elevation could be a challenge for inexperienced drivers. A pure joy ahead for the next few kilometres!

Surely wish there were no cars, so I could take the engine to its limits. As they say: "Straight roads are for fast motorcycles, and the curved ones are for fast riders." Sometimes I have a temptation to prove their point. But, most of the times, I don't. :)

This is one of a few motives preventing me from making rash decisions while riding a motorbike. One shouldn't make them driving a car, and definitely not when riding. Might lead to crushing into this.

I mean - this. :D

So when this sign appears in front of me, I don't take it merely as a suggestion. Slow down, find the exit point, lean, add throttle, would be the curve-mantra.

When I feel the insatiable urge to open the throttle and just fly away, I rather park, take it easy. Make a few pictures, savour the moment and then continue to ride in a more appropriate mindset.

Enjoy your day! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!


• Vote @thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

There be some blem lookin curves on those roads

You are right @d3nv3r

Motorcycle travel series excellent ride

Yeah. Thanks friend. Highly appreciated. I will like to add that a helmet can help save one if by chance crashes into those rocks. It can do a lot of good for your head trust me.
I have learnt to drive moderately even though i can be tempted a few times :)
But just like @velimir said, those signs help a lot to help you plan for that point.
Like the post.

Easy rider ;) Seen that film?

Ma super sličice. Vreme za poželeti za vožnju!

u are a real hero
i really respect u this is ur awsme pic bro
https://imgur.com/Si7AGnL

thank you very much ! :)

Great info there. Atimes we need to hear these things over and over again to put us in check.
There’s a fine line between being a confident rider and an arrogant one, and as bikers, we need to remember that we are the most vulnerable motorists on the road.

There’s a fine line between being a confident rider and an arrogant one, and as bikers, we need to remember that we are the most vulnerable motorists on the road.
I concur with you. These bends is a focal point we should be conscious of as riders. Aggressive riding is likely to get you killed – if there’s a collision between a biker and another vehicle, it’s the biker who will come off worst! I have learnt it the hard way not to ride too fast, or attempt to push my limits beyond my abilities.

Yes we are the fastest and least protected out there... so defensive ride as much as possible... :) Thank you for your contribution!

Hay my friend I can see it you are really enjoyed the whole ride. I want to start with first but it's chane mind when look at last, your bike its just beautiful and awesome .. the one word to explain my felling is OMG. And let's come to other parts I like you word that is written by you is..

  • Straight roads are for fast motorcycles, and the curved ones are for fast riders.
    You had explained how you ride and it's good to read your post .

Thank you for following! :)

Wow. Thank you so much for this. I couldn't agree more. I like your sense of humour.
We all feel that way to maximise the empty roads and have a great time, but these bends and other motorists close by is a huge restriction.
25% of motorcycle accidents happen at bends, with rider error due to excess speed, under cornering and failure to stop in time to avoid hazards the leading causes.

When negotiating bends, make sure you anticipate potential hazards, and ensure that you’re riding at an appropriate speed. It’s at bends that weather and road surface conditions will be felt most, so it’s important that you take those into account and ride accordingly.

Thanks man, your words are so true! Mind before the feelings when riding ;)

hey you got yourself a V-star don't you? I have a V-star 950. Great bike. Ride eternal my friend. Shiny and chrome!

great work @velimir you are really inspirational personality

Sometimes watching crazy action movies, we think we can do some of the stunts we see in these movies. Probably a bad idea. I'm glad you didn't test your luck. Have a good weekend bud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94