Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Zagorje' (Part #179)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

A room from the past. If I was allowed to, I would sit and spend a few moments chatting with the ghosts who spent their time inside these walls, living in a much different way than we do. Maybe I wouldn't say this if I was writing this text in times before the Internet.

On the second thought, maybe I would. People spent quality time sitting with each other and talking, playing board games for hours on end and really enjoyed each others presence. The original owners of this room lived way, way before TV or even radio. Each other's minds and original thoughts were all they had to amuse themselves, apart from chess and cards, played on nicely made tables just like this one. Is that a 3D optical illusion there?

This is probably why nice wording and beautiful sentences were so highly valued back then. People gave serious attention to others speaking and took part in inspiring conversations way more than we do today. It was proven that our attention span is diminishing with every new generation. What will happen to humans in 200 years? Will we have the attention span of one millisecond and memory lasting three seconds? Like goldfish do...

As were the sentences, so were the woodworks. It appears that the person making these carvings was making a statement of his trade that echoed through the centuries. What I'm telling you right now is what I'm being told by observing it.

We acquired knowledge of many new things, reached unbelievable heights, built machines that completely change the perception of our present moment. But, we are paying for this. We are paying with the time that we don't spend with dear ones, with missing out on so much while casually skimming over things and not perceiving them deep enough. It's as if we are with training our minds to multitask instead of enjoying the moment.

It seems that the winter might be coming.

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

Wow. Really excellent one there. Is that a museum. The place had some ancient treasured items.
I couldnt agree more that this machines changed things. Those days life was very lovely and family was everything. Consequently, it is not just the deterioration of the quality of our lives that is an issue. The diminishing amount of time that we give to ourselves. From where i live, in the 90's, our whole household was filled with both extended and nuclear family. We all had fun with everyone always close by in the same building.
Technology has given us more leisure time than previous generations, but we have, in many instances, let it usurp our ability to use that time for activities that are essentially human. The parents and grandparents of those of us who are 50 or older know that they not only had more time to sit quietly, but also had more time for each other, time that they spent with family and friends. Now, the television set or computer frequently become a substitute for human companionship.
Is it any surprise, then, that the language we use to express the way we communicate with the technology that surrounds us is often uncharacteristically aggressive, e.g. "shoot me an email," "hit the machine at the check-out counter." It is as if, somewhere in our collective unconscious, we recognize the harmful effects all of this is having upon our collective psyches and want to strike back. We really need some Silence and reflection, and thoughtful conversation with each other and our children. Thank you @velimir.

Thank you, my friend. I love to read your insightful comments!

Have a great one. Be safe

The 3D optical illusion on the table is my best. In fact, I want that chair! The attention to details in old items, houses and furniture always wow me. The craftsmen then pride themselves on their job. Nowadays, it is about profits, the number made in a day, mass production with robots stamping things on items soullessly.

The day I visited my grandparent's friend, who still lived in a storey building he built with wood (no one builds with wood here but right there the man still refuses for the house to be taken down for the modern conventional concrete building). There is this tradition in Africa to offer kola nuts to visitors which is usually eaten with a peanut/ chilli pepper butter. When he brought out the "plate" containing this butter, I wished I had gone to the place with my camera! It was an exquisitely carved piece of art made of wood. Such fine display of ancient tableware which he said was given to him by his grandfather. Making tableware more than 130 years as he was 85 then.

ha! so cool to find out about the things from far places! :) tahnk you! too bad you didn't have your camera! hmmm..i don't think I ever saw kola nuts lol no idea what is this :)

171675300.jpg

Here is a picture, the fruit is rich in caffeine as students chew it to keep awake during night classes :)

It is usually given as gift to visitors as a sign of welcome :)

If I ever go back home, I'd plan to get a picture of that.

This is the only picture I could get online with little resemblance to what I mean

HA! :) Thank you, man! They look really interesting. Almost like sea shells :)

Lol. It sure looks like one come to think of it :)

Nice post!

reading this makes me think that maybe einstein was right,that one day technology will surpass our human interactions. And the world would have a generation of idiots :(

Did you ever see a film called "Idiocracy"? That's exactly what is happening. ;)

yeah i saw the movie where they were experimented on and woke up and the world was just full of garbage. I'm gonna be blessed if i wont live to that point

rofl...that makes two of us!

I really like this style of furniture too!

The second picture is the dizzying kind where your brain is kept caught up with endeavoring to arrange your contemplations legitimately with the apparent space. I simply adore it!

Nice information. Also good combination with text and photos.

What a great combination of information with photos !

hello brother,, I liked your post. So I voted and commented on your post.

I really like your suggestion to work with your own work ,,,
thank you @velimir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88