Stairways to Heaven and Highways to Hell

in #travel6 years ago

As a traveller I’ve always wanted to see all the great cities of the world. But one city that was never on my list of places to visit was Las Vegas, Nevada. My boyfriend went there last year for the first time and loved it so much he wanted to go back, so we decided to make Vegas one of our trips this year. I wasn’t keen on going because I was under the impression the only things to do there were gambling and more gambling, but I was quite wrong.

IMG_1124.jpg

Among other things to do, which I promise to write about in the near future, Las Vegas is home to a wide variety of entertainment shows. Music, comedy, magic, acrobatics, dancing...whatever your interests, there’s a show for you. My boyfriend and I love music, especially classic rock, so we looked for a show that would meet our standards.

IMG_1130.jpg

Michael and I love classic rock so much that we both wish we had been born in the 1960s. We’ve agreed that if we ever come in possession of a time machine the first place we’re going is to a Rolling Stones or Queen concert. Well, if you can’t see the original, the next best thing is a good cover band.

IMG_1142.jpg

I’ve seen all kinds of 80s and classic rock cover bands. The worst are the ones who wear wigs, sing so slightly off key that only I notice, and smash guitars on amps...I wish I could wipe those concerts from my memory. Luckily our experience this weekend was quite different; we hit the jackpot.

IMG_1137.jpg

The Tenors of Rock, voted the best new show in Vegas, are considered the new British invasion. From various parts of the U.K. and Australia, they have combined their talents to create what is without a doubt the best cover band I’ve ever heard. Their technical skill was spot on, and their artistic creativity was impressive. Michael and I are extremely picky about remakes; if you’re going to change up a classic, it better be good.

IMG_1141.jpg

There were a few songs like Sweet Child Of Mine and Livin’ On A Prayer that they slowed down, and others they mashed up, like Carry On My Wayward Son and You Shook Me All Night Long. One of my favorites was when they turned Music Of The Night from Phantom Of The Opera into a rock ballad. When it comes to covers like this, I usually find something to critique or complain about; but with the Tenors of Rock my only complaint is that the show wasn't a few hours longer.

IMG_1144.jpg

IMG_1145.jpg

IMG_1147.jpg

IMG_1155.jpg

Stay tuned for more on our trip to Vegas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62788.74
ETH 2974.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60