Busted in Mammoth Cave National Park - Car Camping in America is Out of Control and Must be Stopped

in #travel6 years ago


Click on photo above to see DTube video.

Day 1773 Journey With No Destination

I was making tea inside the back of my SUV doing a video when I was abruptly interrupted by a knock on my window. I wish I had the presence of mind to have kept the video going, but those guys with guns that have authority over me scare the crap out of me, even when all I'm doing is sitting in my car minding my own business.

I searched crime statistics in Mammoth National Park and found these shocking numbers. I'm lucky I got out of there alive. You will see I'm just kidding when you read below. Thankfully I wasn't ticketed for car camping or I would have raised the crime statistics by 33%. I'm sure this guy saw me yesterday cooking in the picnic area and recognized my car because mine stands out with the large ice chest strapped to the rear basket carrier. He was just doing his job ridding our sacred national parks from the scourge of homeless people.

"Mammoth Cave's overall rate of crime is sufficiently low that NeighborhoodScout's analysis shows the town to be one of the safest in the nation among cities and towns of all sizes, although not one of the very lowest in Kentucky (13% of the state's communities have a lower crime rate). Overall a very safe town, Mammoth Cave's crime rate is just 1 per 1,000 people, which means that a person's chance of becoming a victim in Mammoth Cave is one in 815.

Additionally, NeighborhoodScout analyzed all cities and towns in America with a similar population size to Mammoth Cave, and we found that the crime rate in Mammoth Cave is one of the lowest in the nation for its size. This means Mammoth Cave is one of the safest places in America in which to live for its size, a very important finding.

Now let us turn to take a look at how Mammoth Cave does for violent crimes specifically, and then how it does for property crimes. This is important because the overall crime rate can be further illuminated by understanding if violent crime or property crimes (or both) are the major contributors to the general rate of crime in Mammoth Cave.

Importantly, our analysis shows that Mammoth Cave has one of the lowest violent crime rates in all of America, across cities and towns of all sizes. Murder, rape, armed robbery and aggravated assault happen far less frequently here than in most places. Your chance of becoming a victim? Just one in 10000. Mammoth Cave's violent crime rate is just 0 per 1,000 residents.

Furthermore, our research shows that motor vehicle theft, arson, burglary, and larceny are not very common in Mammoth Cave compared to most US cities and towns. In fact, the rate of these property crimes in Mammoth Cave is just 1 per one thousand people, far below the national average. Based on this rate, Mammoth Cave is one of the safer communities in America with regard to incidences of property crime."

  • copied from NeighborhoodScout.com

Peace, love and vanarchy,

Chris Greysin
The Wandering Voluntaryist

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/chrisgreyson1957/

You Tube: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UC2fIOu4Pt6RXcIi1mDQ38Mw

Steepshot:
https://alpha.steepshot.io/@wanderingagorist

Check out this site where you will see others helping make the planet cleaner.

https://steemit.com/cleanplanet


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76