Bullet Train in China

in #travel5 years ago

After spending several years in Beijing, I finely took the bullet train! I had a friend over from the USA for a couple weeks. He is an avid Hard Rock café connoisseur and the closest one to Beijing is Tianjin, which is the first stop on the bullet train south out of Beijing. So off we went for an afternoon in Tianjin.

The train station in Beijing is rather large, having a “mall like” atmosphere. We arrived, bought tickets and started looking for our train. The trip from Beijing to Tianjin is about 25 minutes. We bought business class tickets which were about 20 USD. You will need to use perfect hand signs or know some Chinese language or have a Chinese speaker with you, I had the latter.

Arriving on the platform there were several bullet trains parked. I think there was one leaving for Shanghai about every 30 minutes. We went to the business class car which was at the front of the train. Took a few photos of the outside of the train, then enter our cabin.

The business class car is about half the length of a normal car having 9 seats. We were the only ones in business class and has our own attendant. She brought us tea, water and a snack pack.

As the train left the station I was amazed at how smooth it was. The smooth ride continued to speeds well beyond 350km/h! There seemed to be a continuous amount of 40 story apartment in different phases of construction all the way to Tianjin. After snacks and a bit of gazing out the window, I thought I would recline and enjoy the trip. After a few moments I felt the train slowing. When I mentioned this to my friend, he said we were approaching Tianjin! OMG that was like 15 minutes. I felt cheated, as I wanted to enjoy the luxury a bit longer.

I look forward to my next bullet train trip. Also I will be sure to take a longer journey next time, maybe Shanghai.
20181002_145944.jpg

20181002_145625.jpg

20181002_150032.jpg

20181002_145808.jpg

20181002_145813.jpg

Try Partiko!

I’m using Partiko to make friends and have fun on the Steem blockchain. You should as well! Here’s my invite link: https://partiko.app/referral/smallearth, you will get 3000 Partiko Points for sign up bonus, and you can exchange them into Steem token!

Sort:  

Nice train with premium features.... Wish to travel in this train :)

Wow! That thing does look like a bullet!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it does, and a very quiet one also 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

How I wish to ride this fast bullet train of China.. Thanks for this shots inside the train!

You are welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

wow...nice!

Take care your travel my friend

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much. I must do this, I travel a lot!

Posted using Partiko Android

The seats have reading lamps!

I wish we had train like this in Cambodia

Posted using Partiko iOS

That would be nice. I enjoyed my trip to Siem Reap.

Posted using Partiko Android

When I read 20$ for the business class, I thought what a hell of a deal you made. Reading a bit further made me realize that you only "drove" approx. 15 min. -> Gamechanger to my argument.
BUT, it looks nice and its definitely something one should do visiting China.
Thanks for posting :)

20$ for business class is indeed a sweet deal

Next time I think I will go from Shanghai to Beijing

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87