Post Travel Blues and Post Living Abroad Experience

in #travel5 years ago

20181116_172928.jpg
Sitting at the foodcourt after hours at the bank.

=====

Post-travel blues

They exist no matter how long the travel.

3 day camps, month long vacation or 5 year overseas work.

In my case this is the second time home in Sydney in 1 year. The feeling is more strange.

There's nostalgia but there's mundanity.
Feels like home but feels different.

I've already been asked multiple times about what it's like being "home".

====

The last time I came back, it was June. I had just spent 4.5 years living and travelling in foreign countries.

I unpacked my life. Cleaned up my past life. Threw away bins of possessions I no longer saw a place in my life and clogged up my home.

It was therapeutic.

Where to from here?

The excitement.
The fear.
The uncertainty.

All running through my mind.

But first, i had still yet to settle.

Off I embarked on another 5 months.
18 countries and 28 cities later.

I'm back to this spot.

Where to from now?

I continue the journey of "settling" back into a society that I'd build my foundation to the understanding of the world, yet no longer relate to as before.

Reverse culture shock.

Lack of belonging.

In between cultures.

Lost cultural identity.

These are some of the ways people tend to describe when one returns from an extended period of time overseas.

Now it is my turn to discover what it means.

This is part of the travel and work abroad experience. I'm ready to see what it's like.

I'll still be posting about little stories or tips in travelling whilst i unpack my years of vlog footage and photos. So stay tuned!

For now, I am dealing with logistics of bank and insurance problems first.

Fun.

Sort:  

what do you do for work while youre abroad?

@vincy told me to peek in on your adventures heheheh so here i am :) intrigued again!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71