The greatest fear when travelling

in #travel6 years ago

20180728_020510.jpg

Okay.

So there are probably a lot more out there such as death and kidnappings.

But today, I'd like to talk about a common occurrence in the world of travel.

Loss or theft of one's belongings.

Have you ever left the house to realise you've forgotten your earphones. Only to not find it in its usual location.

You think about the last time you used it.

Yes, 2 days ago, and surely you put it in next to your lamp on the corner of the desk like you always do.

But. No.

It's not there.

It's just your earphones, you probably won't use them anyways...

But...where could it be? Did you lose them? Drop them? Someone took them?

Now it's on your mind. Consumed by the thoughts. Cycling through your memories. Tracing each step...1 day...2 days.

The memory is blurry.

Oh! My pants pocket!

No. Not there.

10 mins past. 20.

You're late but now you need to find it.

You send a message to your friends.
"Hey mate sorry I'm stuck in traffic, be a bit late"
Before frantically throwing things around.

Where the bloody hell is it!??!

=====

I've had many of those moments including guilty of being late for that reason.

So most people can relate to that feeling.

Or...

That sinking feeling of realisation when you feel your jeans pockets and that rectangular square shaped object is... not there.

Holy shi- oh. My jacket pocket.

=====

Nowadays we have so many belongings that are precious to us. Some we take for granted until we lose them.

That umbrella. The charger. It's the small things sometimes that gets us.

But what happens when you lose the big things.

When you break something important.

=====

I remember all the times I've scraped my car.
I always had a deep sense of regret.

All the what ifs start to play through my head.
What if I had taken this road instead...
What if I had not accelerated then...

The financial cost hurts but above that cost is the sudden burden of fixing the issue. Whether it was taking the car to the repair shop, dealing with the insurance or not having a car to drive.

The negative feelings would last indefinitely and without control. Always on my mind.

=====

So then what happens when you travel... and that fear becomes a reality.

Travel.

The time when you're supposed to be enjoying life the most.

All that is put at a stop.

The panic sets.
Adrenaline kicks in.

Ok. Breathe.

Is this real?

Yes.

Are you sure?

Yes.

Double check.

Okay. Still missing.

Breathing becomes quicker and shorter.
Body starts to feel strange.

You go through all the procedures.
Who to talk to. Where to go. What to do. What
I need.

There is still disbelief.

A smile on your face.

This is a joke right?

It's somewhere close by.

It's just my human error.
No one to blame but myself.

I shouldn't bother other people.

You tell the staff.

You recount your movements.

You provide your details.

Constantly going through your brain are questions unanswered but you're trying to find the answers to.

Everything that can be done is done.

You sit down in the lobby.

Your brain is still on fire.

It's there anything else? Anything you missed?

You're on vacation.
You're supposed to go outside and explore, enjoy.
But your mind is not there. It's not ready.
You can't enjoy.

You sit there.

Consumed.

Hoping.

Waiting.

Counting the days you need to starve to make up for the loss.

It will pass.

You know it.

But you don't feel it.

The fears have become a reality.

======

I felt it when I was scammed on my first day in Berlin.

I felt it again when my phone was damaged beyond repair in Rummu.

And now I sit here in the lobby. Waiting for updates on the laptop I lost.

The worst part is all my videos and photos that I've thankfully backed up but now some stranger has access to all of it.

My feelings are mixed.

I've always had the worst luck.

I'm not even surprised.

There's a smile on my face.

But it's not a smile of happiness.

Sort:  

Very sorry to hear of your loss. Hope your luck turns better soon!

Just want to say thank you ☺️
Your a good soul 🙏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the huge support! ❤️🙏🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Jesus you sound like me! Always misplacing things, I have had situations where both myself and my fiancé were stumped as to how what ever I loose is always back where I thought it would be in the first place. We have checked many times then poof it’s there like magic or it is never seen again.

My fiancé figures it’s the higher powers setting a path for me, I have one good example where I lost my wallet before heading to work. Usually I will just wait and look for it after but this one time I was overwhelmed with concern. I told my coworker I couldn’t pick him up that day as I rummedged around. No concern he took his car, the last check before leaving I found my wallet exactly where I left it but it was wide open with all my cards spread around. In a hurry I didn’t think anything of it. I rode a scooter at that time so traveling with my coworker was cost splitting a really cheap ride, it was a good thing we didn’t that day! I had a blow out of my front tire and completely lost control jumped off and slid in my leathers for 40 or so feet without a scratch! Now had my coworker been on the back wearing his usual clothes he would have been badly injured, myself I may not have been able to jump off and both of us would have went with the scooter into the front of a truck! The interesting part, while I was sliding the fact my wallet was open came to mind, I did not leave it that way! I checked and my Drivers License was missing, looked around the crash site, no luck. Called the fiancé told her what happened and she informed me my licence was standing up against my mom ashes. I get chills when I think of this, only time I really can’t explain or make an excuse about.

I am a big believer in facts and reality but I am often led to believe there is more going on in this world then we are able to perceive. Good or bad these things are distracting just enough to set a different path.

Be aware of these things, your bad luck
may be someone/thing trying to communicate with you. I don’t have these events as frequently now that I have started listening, third eye and all!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the long reply. In fact after this post i ran into a whole lot of problems. Including realising i had 5000AUD withdrawn over 5 days from my account somewhere in India. Had to run around finding help last couple of days.

Aye just hang in there man, keep pumping that karma wheel with positive it comes back around eventually we just have to endure long enough.

I hope you didn’t mind me encouraging @Vincy to start a fundition for you? I figured give it a shot, it’s a challenge for me to see if I can get eyes on it for you. Not really sure how else to help other then bringing you some steemit love 🤞

Curious what was your next leg of the travels or was it coming to an end?

I always think of the big picture, it’s hard when your in the trench still.... but was that trench really the front line? If you know what I’m getting at. Was all this chaos placed in your life to avoid some other events? Like with me if I look hard enough I can always see how it worked out for the best after the fact... sad to say but I’ve pumped my tire full of bad karma from a young age and I am just now countering those years of misdeeds.

By the way on top of the fundition by @vincy I did my own post for a Partiko contest. The liquid rewards and contests winnings from that post will go to you, here is hoping we can help recoup some of those losses.

Just keep smiling even though it’s not for good reasons, there are people whom genuinely care we are just in a world filled with victims and it can be difficult to separate the life long victim from the in need of a hand victim.... I don’t like that word victim but it fits as your not at fault for someone else scamming you in anyway.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Came to your post via your sister @vincy's post. Sending you lots of positive vibes... Hope that everything will turn out fine later... Stay strong!
And to those bad guys/girls... they will surely receive karma one day...

Jesus I really hope you get your stuff back man :(. Are you covered by travel insurance for the monetary side of things?

I lost my laptop in Bali 2 years ago. The laptop is replacable but all the data and documents and, most importantly, images were not. I've learnt to use the cloud for photos since. Good job backing stuff up.

Goodluck. Keep us updated.

☹️ thanks for your support 🙏🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi there @wayso I also found out from your sister @vincy. I praying that things will work out for you. Stay safe and strong! Your family both real and Steemit are thinking about you! #steemitmamas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73