Eating at the Floating Market

in #travel6 years ago

Hello, Steemit friends! I am back with some more tales from my travels. After spending an amazing week in George Town, Malaysia it was time to make a move. The average amount of time we have been spending in each country so far has been around one month. Our one month in Malaysia was approaching fast so we decided to head to Thailand! We have done a lot of flying in the last few months so our goal is to travel by land for the next little while. Therefore, we decided to take a bus from George Town to the southern city of Hat Yai, Thailand.

We booked tickets at the guesthouse we were staying at in George Town and were picked up on the morning of our departure just after 8 am. Crossing the border was very easy and after a quick look through my passport I was given a 30-day visa for Thailand.

While the buses do travel further into Thailand, we decided to spend a day in Hat Yai and check out what the city had to offer. When we arrived at our hostel we were told we were in luck, it was Sunday which meant the floating market was open!

20180204_181624.jpg

The Khlong Hae Floating Market is open Friday, Saturday, and Sunday and sells all sorts of delicious food and drinks from boats docked along the canal.

20180204_181534.jpg

20180204_181801.jpg

After doing one lap of the boardwalk it was time to eat! First thing on the menu: pork skewers

20180204_182619.jpg

Then some delicious quail eggs.

20180204_183503.jpg

A curry seafood dish in bamboo.

20180204_183803.jpg

And some deep fried papaya salad.

20180204_184249.jpg

20180204_184411.jpg

There is also a larger market a bit away from the water that sells food, drinks, clothing, and all the little things you normally find at a night market.

The floating market is located about 6 km north of the city center. You can hire a tuk tuk or taxi for a minimum of 400 baht. Another option is taking a songthaew, a type of public transit, for around 30 baht.

20180204_171048.jpg

We attempted this, but due to a lack of communication we were dropped off about 4 km away from the market and walked the rest of the way.

While Hat Yai is not well-known by Western tourists yet, I highly recommend making a stop in the city if you are in the area! Thanks again for reading, upvoting, and commenting. I hope you enjoyed!

Until next time,
Chantelle

Sort:  

It looks very tasty 😋
I miss thai food 😂

I love Thai food. All I want to do is eat!!!!!!

Those quail eggs look great:)

They were delicious and had the perfect amount of seasoning on top!

Checked out your post and your blog, most enjoyable! Upvoted and followed, looking forward to your next post. I think you're going to love Thailand, the people are lovely, so genuine.

Thank you so much. I am loving Thailand so far!

@windupbird been here too I love the comfy down to earth feel of the place

It is such a chill city. I really enjoyed it there! I am glad you liked it as well.

oh my goodness... i'm in love with your blog. it's official :)

I only gave you a 1% vote on this - just so that I can upvote!!! (since it is already past it's payout)

but please allow me to show my appreciation through a tip :)

@tipu send tip to this amazing blog please!!!! :)

My husband isn't on steemit... but I just had to email him your link - he LOVES Anthony Bourdain's show (where he travels all around the world eating the real cuisine of the land) and he did a show that featured the floating market... it was pretty entertaining because I think that they also left him far away from the floating market! It seems that the locals don't know its a big deal - and they get confused when people ask about it??? (or maybe they just pretend so they can keep it a well-kept secret!) hehehe

Thank you so much. It has been so lovely to check up on my Steemit today and read all of your comments :)

Happy to bring a smile to your face! the feeling is mutual!

Hi @windupbird! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67