The Worst ERROR in the Application for the Visa in the American Embassy

in #travel6 years ago

If you are one of the more than 80 million tourists from all over the world who are thinking of going on vacation to the United States, you should process the Visa with time and do not make mistakes in the interview at the American Embassy.

The United States is a country that receives between 80 and 100 million visits every year in recent years. For this reason, the American Embassy has increased security procedures and control of entry and exit of foreigners.VISA NEGADA 1.jpg
But, if you are a privileged citizen belonging to one of the 38 countries that are part of the ESTA program (Visa Waiver Program), it will not be too complicated to carry out the process. Which was not my case because I am Venezuelan, and sadly Venezuela is not part of the ESTA Program. With this I mean that the first time I applied for the Visa to visit the United States of America they denied me because I committed the Worst Error of all in the mentioned procedure.
USA.jpg
In the year 1991 being Tourism Guide in the city of Caracas I met the young American @Joann Hipp in his first visit as a tourist to Venezuela.
CARACAS.jpg
I served as a Tourist Guide throughout his tour of the capital and we made a beautiful friendship. For which she invited me to visit her to her hometown in Sacramento, California.
SACRAMENTO.jpg
Shortly after I started working for United Airlines and, six months later, that airline sent me to the American Embassy to apply for the Visa to do the respective introductory training at their offices located in Dallas, Texas.
UNITED.jpg I made the necessary paperwork and I went to the embassy.
EMBAJADA AMERICANA.jpg
There, at the entrance, I handed my passport and sat in the waiting room until they called me. I stood in front of the consular officer, greeted her and handed her the Visa format with my personal documents. He looked at me, looked at my passport and stamped on my application a stamp with the word: DENEID
visa negada.jpg
That was frustrating for me. The consular officer returned the documents to me and I retired in silence.
I really did not understand what happened. I went back to the airport and notified my boss at United that my Visa had been rejected.
INMIGRACION DE VZLA 1.jpg He then informed me that he could not continue working there because a primary requirement was to travel to Dallas to do the Training. I felt so sad that I spent a month without leaving the house and without speaking.
Two years later I became a Regular Agent of the Tourist Police of the Metropolitan Police of Caracas.
POLICIA TURISTICO.jpg
And I returned to my intentions to travel north to visit my friend @Joann Hipp. And since I did not want to fail again in my attempt, I researched everything about the procedures to obtain this Visa and, maybe, so I could decipher why I had been rejected the first time.
FORMULARIO DS 160.jpg
I researched, read, studied and found many things that I did not know. As, for example, the citizens of Mexico, Colombia, Venezuela, Argentina, Dominican Republic, Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia or any other Latin American country (except Chile, which is within the visa exception program), must apply of American visa B1 or B2.
Visa B1 and B2?
The B1 and B2 visas have the same function as the ESTA travel authorization, although they have some special features, such as the processing time, in the case of the B1 and B2 visas, the application process is much longer and it can not be done only over the internet. Another feature is the final interview that takes place at the nearest US consulate or embassy.
Currently there are specialized websites such as Visadoestadosunidos.com, which are responsible for managing and processing any application that makes reference to the B1, B2 and ESTA visa, in addition to offering all the necessary information and requirements before embarking on a trip to the United States.
Differences between B1 and B2
The B1 visa is a temporary visa for business, to attend meetings, conferences, congresses, interviews, etc., but in no case to receive remuneration. If the citizen entered with a B1 Visa and then went to work in the US, it will be necessary to obtain a work visa.
On the other hand, the B2 visa is the tourist visa. It is the most requested. It is the one that must be obtained in case of wanting to travel to the United States for leisure reasons, visiting a family member or receiving health care.
I also prepared for the interview and made a summary of the most important things so as not to fail in the attempt. I am going to focus precisely on tourist, pleasure or tour visas or B1 / B2.
The interview usually lasts very little. In the case of the tourist visa in most cases just a couple of minutes. However, the interview may also be extended between 15 and 20 minutes.
Despite its short duration, the truth is that the interview is a fundamental part of the process for obtaining the visa, so it is extraordinarily important to follow the rules, do not make mistakes and do it well.

  1. The age of the applicant
    Except for very limited exceptions, all persons between 14 and 79 years of age must go in person to the interview when a non-immigrant visa is applied for the first time. Although with the presidency of Donald Trump, things can change. In addition, that general rule of physical presence for all those between the ages of 14 and 79 has important exceptions. For example, an 80-year-old person has to go to the interview if he or she has been previously arrested in the United States or deported.
    In many cases it is required to go to the interview if the child has already completed 6 years. But this age may vary. If the child must go to the interview, he must be accompanied by his two parents, unless only one of them has legal custody of the child, such as in case of widowhood or judicial sentence. If one of the two parents can not for serious reason must deliver to the parent who does accompany the child a letter specifying that he gives his consent for the child to obtain the visa. An example of a serious reason is that one of the parents is residing in another country and can not travel to the interview, is in jail, is hospitalized, etc.

  2. No companions.
    Applicants must go alone to the consular offices or to the embassy. That is, they should not be accompanied by relatives, friends or lawyers. Except in the case of minors who must be accompanied by the parents or their legal representative.
    Also in the case of the disabled, they can be accompanied by an assistant. Even the presence of a translator is admitted when necessary, for example, in the case of the deaf and dumb they can go with someone who translates the sign language. In all these cases, the name of the companion must be notified in advance.

  3. Comply with the time.
    Arrive on time, but no more than 15 or 30 minutes before the appointment time.
    You should wait in line outside, even on rainy or cold days.

  4. The safety rules
    We have to wait for a control very similar to that of airports. For security reasons, all visitors within a US diplomatic building must go through a metal detector. It is prohibited to enter cell phones and other electronic devices such as iPads, iPods, video cameras and even remote controls to open cars or entry gates to buildings or parking lots. I do not even have to say try to enter weapons of any kind or similar, such as knives or other sharp objects. Nor, backpacks, suitcases, boxes or briefcases.

  5. Organize all the necessary documentation.
    And when I say everything, it's all. Do not forget anything Bring all the documents that serve to prove that you meet all the requirements to be granted the requested visa. You must carry your valid passport, the confirmation paper of the appointment and the receipt of the deposit of the visa fee. Any document having less than 3 months of issued.
    The first thing that is delivered is the passport, current and in good condition. With at least a validity for the next six months, and if you have had a passport with an expired American visa, you must also take it. If you have had a passport with an American visa that has been lost or stolen, you must bring the notification or official report.
    Finally, if you have been arrested in the United States or have been deported, do not forget that detail. Also, you must carry those documents.
    It is convenient to place all these documents in a transparent plastic envelope. Everything ordered. Never sealed envelopes.
    When you give your passport they will give you a number. Then you should wait while sitting in the waiting room until they call you by name and by number for the interview. Avoid going to the bathroom, going out to drink water, etc. during the wait.

  6. Answer all questions with the truth always.
    Do not come asking questions. The interviewee will be you. Do not look extremely happy or very nervous or anxious, let alone suspicious.
    The entire process for the interview from the time you arrive for the appointment until you leave the building can take between 2 and 3 hours, depending on your country, it can be much more. But the face to face with the consular officer who will decide the case can be as short as 1 minute for the tourist visa or 15 for the student, business or investment.
    If you ask for a tourist visa, they will ask you which places you plan to visit, how you are going to pay, if you are going to visit a relative, etc. What matters to the consular officer is to discover if there is a risk that, if the visa is approved, the applicant can stay in the United States for longer than authorized. In order to avoid the visa being denied to you for that reason, you must present supporting documentation that serves to demonstrate strong family and / or economic ties in your country of residence.
    If you request a business, they will ask you about the company, the commercial activities of that company, your functions in it, what you are going to do in the United States, how long you will be working in the company and in what position and with what specialty. On the other hand, if you request an exchange or student, they will verify your level of English and / or the career you plan to study, the institution, the course or career, the form and cancellation of studies, address, residence, etc.
    The additional documentation that is taken to prove the case of each one is only given to the consular officer if he asks for it. You are not required to accept it and will only ask for it if you think it is necessary to make your decision. In any case it is convenient to take it.

  7. Do not lie.
    During the interview it is important to answer with the truth since the use of false documentation or lying to obtain a visa is considered a fraud and may result in the liar being considered ineligible for a visa for the rest of his life.
    This is something that happens very often. And even, in some cases, the consulates warn the local authorities to criminally prosecute the falsification of documents.

  8. Do not be impolite.
    Do not shout, do not insult, do not make bad comments, etc. Even if you consider that the consular officer is being very strict. And much less if you deny the visa. It is obvious that if you misbehave, you will never get a visa. In addition all the comments you make and all kinds of behavior will be filmed and will be recorded in your visa applicant file.

  9. The image is important.
    It is important to make a good impression. Do not overdo it or dress as if you were going to a wedding, but give the image that you have the legal economic means to pay for the visit to the United States.
    So I applied again for the Visa and went back to the interview at the Embassy. As you can see, I learned all the pros and cons. I felt sure that this time they would not deny me the visa. In addition, I met all the requirements, married, had two children and was a police officer. However, I stopped in front of the consular officer, looked at me and again I was denied a visa.
    What happened? What did I do wrong? Why did they deny me the visa? My dilemma was greater this time. But, I was not sad as on the previous occasion. I just kept investigating.
    And what happens at the end of the interview for the American visa?
    The consular officer will inform you if the visa is granted, denied, or neither, because it enters what is called an administrative process. The causes of non-approval can be qualified in two categories: ineligibility for the visa that is requested and inadmissibility to enter the United States.
    In the case of tourist visas, the most common reason for refusal is not having proven sufficient economic and / or family links. Before reapplying with certain possibilities of success it is advisable to know how much to expect and what to do to correct the problem. In the event that the cause of denial was inadmissible, be aware of whether the consular officer suggests the possibility of requesting a waiver, also known as permission or forgiveness.
    On the contrary, if the visa is granted, the passport must be in the embassy and it will be sent to you within a few days with the visa stamped on it. You must understand that the visa does not give you the right to enter the United States, it is only a requirement. The final decision corresponds to the immigration officer at the airport, port or land border.
    When the embassy says no to the visa petition: what can be done?
    Tourist visa requests are denied relatively frequently. Rejection occurs because it is inadmissible or ineligible. These are 20 reasons why the visa may not be approved.
    Among all the causes of denial, the most common is not to prove strong economic and family ties in the place of residence. It is important to carry all the documentation that can be used to prove these two points. In case you deny the reason for this cause, you will receive a paper with the number 214 (b).
    However, it is very important to keep in mind that the consular officer is not obliged to examine any documentation. You can make your decision without seeing a single paper. You are authorized to do so. But just in case, take the documents.
    Finally, if the visa petition is rejected, in some cases it will be possible to request a waiver. But it does not have to be granted. It is also possible to reapply after the request has been rejected.
    Having a visa does not mean entering the United States. Upon arrival at the airport, port or land border of entry, the Immigration officer in charge of customs control is the one who has the final say and decides whether or not to allow the foreigner to enter the country.

The reasons can be very diverse, but it may simply be that the officer understands that you intend to stay in the country or that you do not have enough income to support you during the intended stay.
It may also be that it is detected that a wrong visa is being used. For example, you come to study or get married for which you need another type of visa, and you will not be allowed to pass.
They spent two more years and as an Immigration Officer at the Simón Bolívar International Airport in Maiquetía, I met a National Treasury Official from the United States of America.
INMIGRACION DE VZLA.jpg This gentleman also invited me to his house. So I told him my two sad experiences at the American Embassy in Caracas. Then, he told me that a great friend of his was working in that embassy. He told me I'm going to talk to him and inform you. That's how we are. A short time later, the American National Treasury official called me and told me to go to the American embassy in Caracas to talk to his friend.
I did all the paperwork for the visa again and I went to the embassy. This time I was seen by the consular officer in his office. There I gave him my passport with my documents for the visa application.

Having a visa does not mean entering the United States. Upon arrival at the airport, port or land border of entry, the Immigration officer in charge of customs control is the one who has the final say and decides whether or not to allow the foreigner to enter the country.

The reasons can be very diverse, but it may simply be that the officer understands that you intend to stay in the country or that you do not have enough income to support you during the intended stay.
It may also be that it is detected that a wrong visa is being used. For example, you come to study or get married for which you need another type of visa, and you will not be allowed to pass.
They spent two more years and as an Immigration Officer at the Simón Bolívar International Airport in Maiquetía, I met a National Treasury Official from the United States of America. This gentleman also invited me to his house. So I told him my two sad experiences at the American Embassy in Caracas. Then, he told me that a great friend of his was working in that embassy. He told me I'm going to talk to him and inform you. That's how we are. A short time later, the American National Treasury official called me and told me to go to the American embassy in Caracas to talk to his friend.
I did all the paperwork for the visa again and I went to the embassy. This time I was seen by the consular officer in his office. There I gave him my passport with my documents for the visa application. And he said, I'll call you soon. A few days later, he called me and I went to pick up my passport with my American visa stamped on it.
VISA APROBADA.jpgAnd I asked why they had rejected my visa before.
And his response was: "For having a terrorist appearance."
TERRORISTA.jpg
So the worst mistake in the process of the American visa is to have a terrorist appearance.

Sort:  

hey @zulluzex.. here's a good way for you to make some money to build your account and also to meet people... Here is a link to 16 games we have going... Most are pretty short and just require that you read the post and then enter an answer...

Here is the link:

https://steemit.com/superbowlweekne/@davemccoy/super-bowl-week-newbie-edition-day-4-contest-update

Just trying to help out my friend!

Cool! up + follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56