Travel Digest #508

in #traveldigest5 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hi everyone @lizanomadsoul here presenting you the friday edition of our #traveldigest.

Also I want to do a short shout out to our dear supporter @timezonejunkies that just donated 10USD to us through our fundition campaign.

They are an English/Swedish couple that have been together for over 8 years and during that time they have been travelling quite a lot. They have met in Spain and spent time between there and Thailand for 5 years or more and in 2017 they did something more creative. They decided to travel to Thailand and do something crazy! - Instead of just having a good time they decided to return their flight to the UK and HITCHHIKE all the way back to Europe instead! If you want so see more about their adventures on their way go and check out their stories at @timezonejunkies.

It is an honor for me to say THANK YOU in the name of all the team for supporting our project.

All featured posts will be upvoted through @steemitworldmap.
All featured posts will be put on the Editors Choice Map.
For more like this check out #traveldigest.

Our top donators on Fundition (+40 USD):
@derekrichardson


Travel Digest

#1 My California - Tar Creek by @derekrichardson

In the southern part of the Los Padres National Forest is a small yet beautiful creek filled with stunning waterfalls and deep pools… Tar creek! I have been visiting Tar creek for years now. When the weather warms up it's time for a trip to Tar! Technically Tar creek is off limits due to it being inside the Sespe Condor Sanctuary. But they have only started trying to enforce those rules the last few years. So now days I don't visit Tar as often as I used to, but every so often I still meet up with a few friends for a secret under cover mission to cliff jump at some of the most beautiful pools in SoCal!
Find this post on the map Find this user on the map


#2 Wildcamping the West Highland Way - Day 1 by @natubat

The West Highland Way is probably Scotland's most popular hiking trail. I'd wanted to do it for years, but had never quite got round to it – despite the start being almost on my doorstep.At the end of March there was a mild spell of weather and I decided to go for it. I'd been planning it in my mind, hoping to do it before the busy season started. I wanted to do it as a camping expedition, as I was working towards my Mountain Leader Assessment, and in order to qualify, I needed to do several wild camping nights.
Find this post on the map Find this user on the map


#3 Hiking to Batumi Hill Cross, Georgia by @ctdots

As for many things in Georgia, it is impossible to find any information on the Batumi Hill Cross in English language. As to this day it remains somewhat enigmatic to me and I only did this hike, because I saw the cross a day before enlightened on a hill near our hotel. It is no surprise for such a symbol to stand on a hill as such religious statues could be found across Christian countries. Georgian people are proud to be one of the first Christian countries in the world. In a matter of fact, the region is famous for that as a neighbouring country, Armenia is officially the first Christian country in the world. 80% of Georgia’s population belongs to Georgian Orthodox Church, which to my surprise is way more modest compared to other Orthodox Churches I've seen.
Find this post on the map Find this user on the map


Honorable Mentions


Support Steemitworldmap

The more support we get, the more we can give back!
Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower
Support us on Fundition

Want to learn more?



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://haveyoubeenhere.com/wp/2019/05/10/travel-digest-508/
Sort:  

Thank you for featuring me, it is an honour as always! :>

Thanks for featuring my post! Great selection, as always :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98