MEET HUSAIN! MY LITTLE FRIEND UP NORTHERN NIGERIA.

in #travelfeed4 years ago (edited)

MEET MY FRIEND HUSAIN AND HIS FAT COWS

Cattle grazing is a common activity amongst the Hausa and Fulani tribes in Nigeria 🇳🇬. It is one of the major lucrative businesses of these tribes. Though cattle rearing is a great financial income generating enterprise, it is very stressful kind of activity that somehow requires a nomadic lifestyle. Thus, this "adventure" is mostly carried out by grown up men who can vehemently withstand such enormous level of stress.

I have seen several cattlemen in my life time, but I have never seen any as young as "Husain" - a name I just gave him.
This young boy was consistent in coming around my former apartment with his cattles, just few but fat cows, since there were much green grases for his cattles to feed on.

Often, while the cows go about grazing, Husain would sit under one of the trees to relax and watch them feed. I noticed he doesn't go along with any container of reserved drinking water.

One of the days, I returned from work and found him shading under the tree as usual. But this time he looked so tired and dehydrated. I felt so worried how he was so famished and dehydrated. I had some oranges in my hand and I gave him two. As he started taking the juicy oranges, his face began to brighten up and he started talking with me.

Those cows were way bigger and taller than Husain. So how was he able to control such huge creatures? I wondered! With the little stick in his hand, he could drive the cows in any direction he wishes. He also speaks to the cows and they understand him well. Many times when fight ensued among his cattle, he will speedily dash in with his stick and the cows would separate.

I was so scared of those cows, but I was really challenged by Husain's bravery. I asked Husain if I could take some photos of him with his cows. He said I could, and here they are! I couldn't snap with the cows too. They all had their eyes on me and that wasn't looking friendly.
One out of all the cows is Husain's. The rest are his father's. He could choose to sell off his cow and use the money for anything he desires. But for this to happen, he has to graze every of those cows deligently like they are all his own.

Today I look at these pictures and remember Husain my little friend and his cows.

Lessons I have learned from Husain;
Dare the dreadful
Be fearless
you can do it
Power is not determined by size
Everything is possible

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Only wish that this cattle human relationship could transcend into a human- human relationship among the people of up northern Nigeria, giving a higher value for human life over that of cattle.

Posted using Partiko Android

My experiences in the North-Eastern, North-Western, and North-Central parts of Nigeria over the years have taught me a lot about the Northerners. They are naturally very nice and hospitable. They live very easy life. But when they dislike you or a thing, then that may not end well. Religious differences is one of the major factors that has caused the inhumane treatment leveled so far. Another is what they call "western influence" - which of course will make my next post.
Thank you for reading through and commenting. Na gode! 😀

Great lessons, awesome lessons within.

Posted using Partiko Android

Still grateful you introduced me to this place. Thank you 😊 @uyobong

The look those castles were given were not friendly lol. You did a great job putting up this article. 100% upvote from me for a job well done and my regards to Hussein - power is not determined by size

Yeah! Power is not determined by size. Though many of the times, people easily get appealed by huge physique then mental abilities.

Congratulations @abasbrave! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @abasbrave! Your post brought a smile to the TravelFeed team so we have sent you a smiley. Keep up the good job. 🙂

Feedback

Based on your post, we have the following feedback for you:

  • We noticed that you did not publish your post through TravelFeed.io or edited your post on other Steem frontends. For better-looking blogs, we recommend you use our EasyEditor. As a bonus, when you post through our platform, you receive double upvotes from us, you are eligible for the top pick of the day (resteem + featured on the TravelFeed.io front page) and you can earn extra rewards from being featured in our daily curation posts. You can simply login with your existing Steem account using Steemconnect or Steem Keychain. See you next time on TravelFeed.io!
  • We love hearing your personal experience but we encourage you to add more informative details in your post that other travelers are looking for.
  • Your post will be hard to find. With the location picker in the TravelFeed.io editor you can easily add a location to your post to improve its discoverability.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@wanderein (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach out more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58