Feeding Wild Hyenas in Ethiopia!

in #travelfeed5 years ago

I made a trip down to Ethiopia in eastern Africa and went to the city of Harar.
Harar was probably the highlight of my entire trip to Ethiopia as it was such a beautiful city completely surrounded by walls.

While I was there I got to feed very hungry, very wild hyenas, some meat on a stick..... with my hand...(which is still intact by some miracle haha!)

Legend has it that in the 1960's farmers from Harar started to feed the hyenas some kind of porridge on the hill so they wouldn't eat their livestock and children. (which was a real concern at the time)

At times when they didnt put out food, the hyenas sometimes tried to dig holes under their homes to try and get in to eat their children.

Now the locals feed the hyenas outside the walled city of Harar religiously every night.

Make no mistake, these hyenas are wild and roam freely, but judging by the fact that I have both of my hands today as I write this, I'm sure they have some sort of 'treaty' with the locals as long as they keep feeding them

It was too dark to take a better picture but there are about 20 hyenas surrounding me in this photo, you can actually see their eyes glowing in the dark behind me!

Ferocious but beautiful creatures!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wow, that must have been one crazy experience. Ethiopia is already a destination that not many people would choose, the airport alone is an assault on the senses and you like clearly South Africa doesn't prepare you for Africa

Not sure if I would have the guts to do something like feeding hyenas, glad you made it home safe and have an amazing story to tell


FYI I liked this post so much I decided to pick it as my @pifc post of the week. You can find my submission here

and more about the curation program here if you would like to find authors and help get their content a little more love

hey @chekohler, listen, Ethiopia was CRAZY! and let me tell you, Ive been to some wild countries! The airport has nothing onwild Ethiopia outside haha....I think I will do some more posts on it soon :D Thank you so much for choosing this post! Your support is always appreciated.

Gosh you are brave @aliciasteyn, this is simply amazing!

Posted using Partiko Android

There is a fine line between brave and stupid hahaha.....this might have been leaning towards the latter

Posted using Partiko Android

Your braver than me, I have encountered one on a safari in Kenya.. but not like this.

They are bigger than youd expect right?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, but how did you get out of the situation.. 30 of them surroudning you.. did you have a load of blokes with guns there too to shoo them off when you had enough?

Hahahha no there were no guns. It was just a big risk I suppose. I mean, it was clearly scary but I believed that they wouldnt attack as we were feeding them other food....

Posted using Partiko Android

that's the craziest things I read and known out of the movie @aliciasteyn... what an experience, how was your feeling surrounding by hyenas at night ? I thought the flash behind was candle or lamp.. but.. Gosh.. it's hyena eyes!

Hhahahahah yes hyena eyes! It was crazy, I was definitely scared. I know these hyenas probably wont bite but honestly you never know with wild animals. So yes, excited and scared at the same time

Posted using Partiko Android

I watched that the hyena leader always a female one and they're not kinda animals to be fed by human.. but I think what tbe community doing all this time is a better solution rather than hunting or scared thd hyena away😊 thumbs Up @aliciasteyn.. 👍👍

That's an amazing experience! Wow. I don't know if I had the balls to do it.

Well, I guess there aren't many animals that bite the hand that feeds them. 😉

haha, yeah exactly. Im sure they wont attack someone feeding them. But trust me, their mouths are pretty scary up close!

Wow...I can see you are having a good time @aliciasteyn
I am here because @chekohler featured you in his entry for @pifc payitforward curation contest - week 48

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @ajorundon, ai was actually haveing loads of fun hahah, thank you for checking out my post and thanx @chekohler for the continued support

Posted using Partiko Android

I don’t think they will bite the hand that feeds them . Well until the status-quo changes

I came to your post because it was featured in an entry to @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 48
Posts that have been selected by the entrant will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community and given support.
You are welcome to submit other author’s post in future contests. The PIFC community has a support Discord Channel that you are invited to join. For more information about the PIFC family along with a great way to meet new people. We are a group of like minded people that focuses on assisting one another.

Yes exactly, like I said. They have a treaty with the locals as longs as they keep feeding them. Thanx for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

wow. nice adventure... I'd love to do that one day. For now the most ferocious animal I feed was a badger... ;)

Hahaha flip, any wild animal is actually dangerous. Even a small badger could probably rip your finger right odd if he wanted to

Posted using Partiko Android

Right and the badger I met was nearly the hight of a fox with larger shoulders... It was impressive, so I imagine the hyenas, wow! BTW i didn't feed him with my hands or a stick... I just threw the food in his direction ;)

Hahahahhaha! Thats so sad, please show yourself out😋

Posted using Partiko Android

...and Elvis just left the building...

i came here thanks to https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-48-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Wow!!! i have to say that i didnt think that the Hyenas are to BIG o.o!

They have even bigger teeth! But yes I know what you mean, somehow you imagine them smaller. Thanks so much for the resteem and support!

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! That's crazy :D I'm gonna follow and look forward to more beautiful Africa pictures and exciting adventures!

Thanx so much for stopping by, followinv you already

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94