Thailand Travel Thoughts - What is is really like in Thailand!?

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Thailand Travel Thoughts

P1380233.jpg

I left Thailand last week and boy am I going to miss it. It's fiery, loud, smelly and all around wild. The country is so diverse ranging from the most pristine limestone features carved through the ages to the crazy crystal clear water everyone is so desperate to put on their social media.

I stayed on this island Koh Lanta for a few weeks because it was quieter, calm and the least amount of tourists I could find in the south. After a while you get really sick of seeing the trash from Western food companies and the old white men looking for their Thai brides. I just wanted to be in nature and hang with the locals. I found that in Koh Lanta. So don't go there haha. Leave it be.

It's a paradox traveling and being a tourist while criticizing it constantly. We all want to travel but none of us want to do it in a way that respects the people, cultures and land of the places we visit. We want the food we are accustomed to. The air conditioned hotel room that required foreign materials to be shipped halfway across the world to construct. We don't want to learn the language or the customs of the religions. This would require us to get out of our comfort zones. And who wants that. . . Well I do.

I came to Thailand in the hopes to find a land far off. Far from the western hyper dualised way of thinking. The ways of profit and resource hoarding. To my dismay the conquest of the west did not skip over this country. In the most touristic of areas it was depressing. I'm not even sure why people would travel to some locations and say they left their home country. . . .BUT in Koh Lanta I found what I was looking for. And a few hours on a scooter it got even better And I'm not gonna tell you where. I found no "Ferrangs"(tourist). Just the locals.

It was a Muslim island in a Buddhist country. Far from what I know as familiar. Here the kids laughed. And played. People waved and smiled. No one tried to sell me anything. Just a hello and a smile. I loved it. People going about their lives respecting one another. Living off of the land and building their homes from local materials. It was glorious. I can't wait to come back and find more of this.

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed this. I don't want to ever sound negative about my travels. I am so grateful for my travels and the experiences I am having. But I always have to remain in reality. Observe what is going on around me. Observe the effects for the better or worse of tourism. I hope this has made you think and possibly consider you travel habits.

Much love,

Arqetype

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

It looks like a perfect Island for us.. how was the internet there?

The hostel I was at had really great WiFi. And a dedicated "work/computer" room. If you go I can give you the name! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

It will be a while ... but this Island sounds awesome. Thank you for sharing.

I've been to Koh Lanta a couple of times. It's really nice. I go there just to relax and get away from the Korean winter.

Where did you live on the Island ... did you rent an apartment?

I stayed at a guesthouse called Raven Blue both times. Good location on Long Beach. Very friendly. Every room has a hammock on the porch. When I go there I spend a lot of time reading in the hammock. I'll try to make a post about Koh Lanta soon.

I would love to see your post on Koh Lanta. It was my favorite place in Thailand. is Raven Blue on the north or south of the island. I was pretty much staying smack dab in the middle and would get scooters to the south a little to enjoy the prestine nature down there.

Your pictures are so beautiful !

You're bringing up such a good point. 20 years ago so many parts of Thailand now quite touristy were so pristine and authentic. I wonder how the locals feel about these changes, since to them tourism means more more and more opportunities. I wish economic growth came with mindfulness for nature, environment and local traditions. I was in Koh Lanta briefly on my way to the tiny unknown islands of Koh Ngai, Koh Muk and Koh Kradan and got to experience what you were describing. You should check them out next time!

I would love to see those other small islands. I hope to be there again this year to do a Free diving coarse. And I will stop by. I think for the entrepreneurial minded Thais it is great but for others it must really be a travesty. These are people who have and can live off the land. Western money and economics as a whole has disrupted their way of life now forcing them to hustle for money. But who knows, I can't speak for them that would make for a great video though. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

This looks amazing to get away from all the tourist traps. Thanks for sharing your secret getaway. Hoping your all relaxed and refreshed after your hideaway holiday

Oh it was sooo great! I am so grateful to have spent time in that beautiful country! Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #35! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

Thank you @dailypick I really appreciate that!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.00
Server time: 13:37:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 31.30/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You don't sound negative at all! Just real. I think these are things that cross a lot of travelr's minds. Or maybe not. Maybe just people I hang out with and come across.

I know that place in Thailand. The one you won't mention haha. I haven't gone yet but it's on my list for sure. Your sunset pic is beautiful!

Thanks for sharing your real unfiltered thoughts!

Always @nomadicsoul thanks for appreciating honesty.

Please stop spam commenting like this. You've done it many times and it is considered spam and will get you flagged. Please stop spamming the blockchain! @steemflagrewards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68790.22
ETH 3865.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63