Winter trip to the Western Tatras (Poland)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Hi Steemians!

This time I will take you on the Chuda Przełączka (1851 m a.s.l.). I mainly go hiking in the summer. This is my highest winter expedition. My trip from April 11, 2015. I invite you to read.


0.jpg


Although it was April, it was 10 degrees Celsius, as you can see there is still a layer of about 2 meters of snow in places! There was a second degree of avalanche danger that day, but the trail looked rather safe. I decided to take a chance. I start the trip from the village of Kiry in Kościelisko (935 m a.s.l.). It is a red trail leading ultimately to Czerwone Wierchy. What is my goal? Go as high as possible and make it back safely.

1.jpg


The weather that day was good, it was really sunny and windless in the lowlands. Due to the high temperature for this time of year, the snow was soft and wet, which unfortunately caused rapid fatigue. After passing the first two kilometers through the Kościeliska Valley, I turn left on to the red trail. At first, the path leads through the forest. Only few people walked earlier, so the path is not compacted. My shoes sink deep in the snow. It's quite hard.

2.jpg


After about 2 hours I reach the rock called Piec (1460 m a.s.l.). I like this part of the way to Czerwone Wierchy, it comes out of the forest and you can finally enjoy the eye with beautiful views. As you can see, only a few people wandered this day here. A moment of rest and time to move on. After such heavy snow, unfortunately, you go much longer than in summer. My condition is rather medium, but I manage.

3.jpg


I am already high. You can see the entire massif of Czerwone Wierchy from here. Just below the main peaks is a small pass called Chuda Przełączka. Above it there is a small mountain rising up to 8 meters above the surrounding area called Chuda Turnia (1858 m a.s.l.) Unfortunately, I get out from behind the mountain and strong wind begins to be an additional difficulty. Due to the fast passing of the day, I think I will finish the trip by going to Chuda Turnia. I am tempted to go further towards the first peak from Czerwone Wierchy (Ciemniak peak), but you must always follow your mind and avoid danger.

4.jpg


And I'm on Chuda Turnia. Such is the view of the Ciemniak peak, although its true peak is not yet visible. The mountain looks great in winter colors and seems huge. It cost me a lot of effort to come here on wet snow. I walk with sticks in the summer and in the winter, their skillful use allows you to take about 30% of the effort from the legs to the upper half of the body. Sticks really give a lot in the mountains. I would recommend.

5.jpg


And finally, the best view for which I came here. Panorama of the Western Tatras in winter. With the Bystra peak dominate in them (in the center of the photo above). Unfortunately, I haven't been there yet. I have to go to Slovakia in the summer. Isn't the mountains beautiful in the winter? Are awesome for me! I recommend going to safe places in the mountains in winter for everyone. The views are much more beautiful than in summer. Greetings to all those who love mountains!

Photos used in the article are my private materials.


Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @mrprofessor and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Did you know that you get larger upvotes when posting through TravelFeed.io? That is not all, we are also giving away a ticket to Steemfest to one lucky TravelFeed user. Make sure to read the announcement and opt in! Also, thanks to the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi you can now earn up to 100 STEEM on top of the post rewards when posting through our new platform TravelFeed.io! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we introduced EasySignUp and EasyLogin, our first step to make TravelFeed ready for mass adoption.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hello @astromaniak, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95