A contemplative walk on the Isle of Skye, Scotland

Read "A contemplative walk on the Isle of Skye, Scotland" on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


There’s something about Scotland that conjures the smell of woad paint, images of longships, myth birthing mists, and unrelenting stone. From Masonic rites, the crown, to nukes, everything about the country says bring it on.

In this post, I’m covering my travels on the Isle of Skye. Well, to be more specific I’m covering the Aird of Sleat on the Isle of Skye. The place has a particular hardness to it that provokes the feeling of a beauty born of unrelenting landscapes.

When my mom and I were hiking near the coast I continued to find myself wondering how it was people survived here in an age before modern conveniences. When the wind howled it meant business. Yet even on days when we were in poor conditions, you would find yourself almost ignoring everything and trying to take in the stunning landscapes around you. It was akin to when one's eyes are too big for the stomach... but in this case, it was the place that may have been too big for the soul.

The coastline is dotted by sandy beaches and seaweed covered rocks that almost make you forget you're in Scotland. Because of the location, the sand is almost a colour that you expect to find in the Mediterranean, or perhaps the Caribbean. With little imagination, one could easily envision what it must have been like to see Viking longships on the shore.

I often wonder about the time when men would come to these islands for religious solitude. Did they arrive here with that goal in mind? Or was it the natural beauty of the location that would provoke them to spiritual contemplation? The area certainly has refused to let go of its spirit. It’s one of the only locations in Scotland that has a college that teaches in strictly Gaelic, and most of the population on the island speak Gaelic over English. It’s easy to see that if Scotland is ever threatened with a corruption of its identity that this place holds the potential to remain unchanged. No matter the event.

By the time we left, I found myself profoundly sad to go. I hate returning to the normal world after going away, but this time it was particularly saddening. I love the natural world, so leaving it is always a bit of a head screwing experience. I guess it’s the readapting to normal stuff again. However, I know I will be back, so I guess it’s a small comfort.

Well, that’s it for now. I have found that pictures of my travels are great to share, but the best way to share my journey was to try and articulate what thoughts and feelings the place I was in provoked. The Isle of Skye is one of those places that will do that. I guess that’s part of its magic.

Thanks for reading guys. I will be doing more posts in the future from our next family trip. I’m still getting the hang of the whole travel feed dapp, so any pointers or advice is always welcome. Best of luck with your posts, and looking forward to reading them.

Picture Credits:

All images are my own


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Scotland, this width, this openness is so, so beautiful and I think it has a very special energy in it.
I always wonder too, how people could live in such environments ages ago. I really have no idea, why they left warmer zones to come this far north!

I totally agree! Scotland is one of those wonderfully wild and beautiful places that takes your breath away. Thanks a lot for reading my post :)

Congratulations @bucksforaging15! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@elsaenroute (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach out more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #761.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team and got an upvote from @blocktrades to support your work. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of the Haveyoubeenhere community:


Thank you very much! I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for reading and sharing it!

Congratulations @bucksforaging15! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bucksforaging15
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-contemplative-walk-on-the-isle-of-skye-scotland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64